Liz Jenkins: A Ciptex DevOps Engineer

Rosie Jones Ciptex
Ciptex
Published in
3 min readApr 16, 2021

Blog by Liz Jenkins, DevOps Engineer for Ciptex. Liz joined Ciptex as a DevOps Engineer and is committed to supporting, automating, and optimising client solutions to help organisations work more effectively.

Fresh out of college in 2017, Liz began her tech journey and joined Ciptex as a DevOps Engineer on the Digital and Technology Solutions Degree Apprenticeship. She is committed to supporting, automating and optimising client solutions to help organisations work more effectively.

From A-levels, I knew I wanted to progress onto university and study tech, specifically Computer Science. I’ve always loved problem-solving and using innovative technologies, a passion I wanted to turn into a career. However, there was only one thing holding me back from following the traditional undergraduate route. I felt it did not offer the industry experience I was keen to get.

After coming across the Digital and Tech Solutions Degree Apprenticeship scheme at Manchester Metropolitan University, I could see a route that gave me the best of both worlds. A 4-year Tech Partnership Gold accredited programme, the degree apprenticeship offers a BSc degree combined with work experience gained in a professional business environment. I knew this course would provide me with great experiences in addition to the professional knowledge needed to succeed in the fast-growing tech space — and I can certainly say I have not been let down!

Joining a team that is more like family than colleagues has provided a network of support and advice that has truly shaped me as a DevOps Engineer. I feel lucky and honoured to be able to learn from a group of talented individuals, all experts in their field. It is thanks to my fellow team members at Ciptex that I’ve been able to take on new opportunities with confidence. Flying out to Dublin to independently manage and complete a client migration piece is not something I thought I’d be doing in my first year on the job!

Fast forward to now, and I’m in my final year of study, looking forward to graduating in early May. To close the ultimate chapter to the apprenticeship, I have been independently managing and developing a troubleshooting solution integrated with Ciptex’s virtual cloud contact centre solution, Ciptex Race. This has been a real opportunity for me to demonstrate my learnings over the past four years, both in intellectual and professional capacities, to produce a genuine product with real business impact.

Post-graduation, I plan to stick around with the Ciptex Team to see what brilliant things we can achieve. Fancy joining us?

--

--