Devlog — Week 10

Manel C.
Circuit Slimes Devlog
1 min readMay 15, 2020

Hey!

This week I am a bit late to publishing and I am sorry. I was trying to make a gif or video to showcase a few neat little changes that show how our simulation as improved. Sadly I have not been able to finish and I cannot delay anymore.

So… I will just have to tell you about those changes.

Like I wrote last week, we have been working not only to make our simulation system more robust but also to make much more readable for the player. Where before agents would act one after the other on any given Turn of the simulation, now they all act in unisson. This change means that we have had to make some deeper alterations to the overall system.

By deciding at the same time, agents do get to be privy to the changes caused to the world by others and so these actions can conflict. We had to decide how to address this and ultimately concluded that the most logical thing in context was to have actions fail. Much like in real life, people can make decisions split seconds apart and from there they might both fail at doing what they intended, just one might fail… It is all about who acts first, reacts first, so on and so forth.

Again, I am sad I cannot show you this yet, but hopefully in the near future. Hope you are all well and see you next week!

--

--

Manel C.
Circuit Slimes Devlog

An Engineering student interested in Gamedev, Mythology, Drawing…