Devlog: Week 4

Asset Creation

Francisco Nicolau
Circuit Slimes Devlog
2 min readApr 3, 2020

--

Hey hey hey!

This week was filled with lots of hard work as we inched towards the end of the first dev cycle and got closer to submission. While my colleagues kept working on the functionality and interface design for the tech prototype I kept exploring the visual style of the game and finalized our main slimes.

Here you can see them in their full glory :)

Solder, Water and Electricity Slimes

While I am quite pleased with the overall feel of our slimy buddies, we thought that flat cell-shading and solid saturated colors would be more suited to the platform we are targetting. Also since these elements will only be seen from a faraway distance it really pays off to have a cleaner aesthetic like this.

Battery Model with Soft Shading and the new Flat Shaded Style

Finally, I took advantage of some free time at the end of the week to put together models for a few extra components that might make it into the game!

A few of the components we are planning to include

I hope it’s been interesting to look at the progress that we were able to do this week, I look forward to continuing to explore the new style and getting to continue development on this game.

See you next week :)

--

--

Francisco Nicolau
Circuit Slimes Devlog

I’m a CS Master’s student interested in using all sorts of technology as a medium to challenge myself and express creativity.