A Day In the Life of a Meraki Intern: behind the Scenes of Network Support

Jeremy Holland
Cisco Meraki
Published in
3 min readJul 21, 2021

Steve Duarte is what college administrators call “well rounded.” A senior at the University of Massachusetts Lowell studying IT, Steve’s hobbies include fishing, playing guitar, Jiu Jitsu, hiking, and riding his bike. But what we think will make him irresistible to future employers is his work with us as a Network Support Engineer intern.

How do you set yourself up for success in the morning?

I start my day around 5:30 am. I head straight for a strong cup of cold brew that I prepare in advance. I do yoga followed by a quick walk with my dog Bradley. When we get back, I power on my laptop so I’m ready by 7:00 am.

Tell us about a day in your life as a Meraki intern.

First, I log in to the tools I use throughout my day. I also like to check in with the team via Webex. Then I head over to Salesforce to check updates on my active cases. I spend most of the day researching and responding to new and existing cases.

I normally receive six to eight new cases per day and actively manage 15–25 cases at a time. This might sound like a lot, but the #MerakiMagic makes it possible. (The #MerakiMagic refers to our people and culture, and the ease-of-use of our products.) As a Network Support Engineer intern, I haven’t come across a single problem that couldn’t be solved by collaboration and/or leveraging the documentation.

On some days, I participate in “reverse shadowing.” I share my screen and audio with a full-time Network Support Engineer (NSE) as I take calls from customers. The knowledge and expertise of the NSEs blows me away and has helped make my internship a phenomenal learning experience.

I end most days with a team meeting where we discuss our cases and help each other with questions or concerns.

All work and no play?

I’ve attended all kinds of fun events hosted by Merakians. Some of my favorites:

  • A virtual tour of an animal rescue facility (where I met emus and a one-eyed pony!)
  • An escape room
  • Coffee-brewing classes

We also have intern events where we play games, hear from previous interns, and meet with leaders across the organization.

What are you most proud of about your internship?

On “Volunteer Day,” you could film a video on any subject. The videos were sent to middle school and high school kids to teach them new skills or just inspire them. I contributed a video on how to play a few chords and tune a guitar. I felt like I could make a difference in an underserved child’s life and give them the gift of music that was given to me as a kid. I hope someday I’ll also have the chance to pay forward the lessons I’ve learned at Meraki about technology, support, and community. I’ve learned a lot — I’m ready to pass it on.

--

--