Designing a Career in UX Design

Neila Colvin
Cisco Meraki
Published in
2 min readSep 29, 2021

What does a triple concentration in UX design, behavior and data science, and business and film get you? Snapped up by the Meraki internship program! We were thrilled to have Trisha Guttal join us recently as a UX design intern. Despite her busy schedule at Cornell University, where she’s learning to solve business problems (while drinking bubble tea), we were able to learn more about her experience as a Merakitern and what’s next for her career.

What was the best part of your internship?

Every UXer at Meraki worked on their own projects across different sub-teams. I was constantly encouraged to get involved in work that interested me, even if it wasn’t directly related to my project. Many sub-teams not only wanted interns to contribute, but also actively reached out about cool opportunities across the areas of research, videography, and mobile design. The team’s openness and inclusivity meant I got to meet amazing people and work on memorable projects.

How did you experience Meraki’s culture?

Everyone on Meraki’s UX team brings positivity to work. The team’s warmth was evident from the beginning — within my first few weeks, I had conversations with every UXer. Whether we were in a team lunch, sprint meeting, or critique session, each team member brought their own unique passions, perspectives, and experiences to the table. Being a part of this vibrant, inclusive team inspired me to contribute like a full-time Merakian.

What are you most proud to have contributed to during your internship?

After completing one of the main milestones of my project, I was encouraged to share my insights with the UX team and beyond. I was also given the opportunity to share my designs at the UX Showcase, an event where Merakians can learn about the company’s newest and most exciting UX-based developments. Each time I shared my work, I was contacted later by curious Merakians, leading me to learn so much about the many talents and experiences of the larger team.

What’s next for you?

During my time as a Merakitern, I was introduced to sub-fields of UX design, including design systems and UX writing. I had the chance to wear many hats and develop a better idea of where my interests might lie. I’m excited to keep growing as a designer by working on challenging and impactful projects that expand my skill set, just like Meraki did!

--

--