Humans of Meraki — Career and Personal Growth at Meraki

Jeremy Holland
Cisco Meraki
Published in
3 min readOct 24, 2023

Having the freedom to show up as your authentic self and feel welcomed into a community isn’t always a given. That’s why at Meraki, we strive to build a culture that embraces everyone and fosters inclusivity. In celebration of Hispanic Heritage Month (September 15 through October 15), we interviewed Gisela Gomez Arreola, Co-Lead of Conexión, the employee resource organization (ERO), who shares about her cultural pride and the experience of working at Meraki.

Gisela Gomez Arreola, Network Support Manager and Co-Lead of Conexión, San Francisco, CA

How did you start your career with Meraki?

I’ve always been passionate about computers. I studied engineering and computer systems in school and have always known that I wanted to work in tech. In 2006, when I was living in Mexico City, I joined Cisco’s Technical Assistance Center (TAC) in a customer support position, where I worked for three years. Then, in 2018, Cisco Meraki offered to sponsor me and I moved to the United States and began my journey at Meraki, where I’ve worked ever since.

How has the Meraki culture been supportive and welcoming to you?

In every sense that you can imagine! From the very first day, I’ve received support from team leaders and coworkers. If I ever have a question, I always feel comfortable asking my team for advice. The Meraki culture is friendly and supportive, we all help each other. Initiatives like employee resource organizations (EROs), which are affinity groups where Merakians can find community, network, and spread awareness, help to build our inclusive culture. Also, there are abundant opportunities to grow and develop at Meraki. If you want to learn something new or switch departments within the company, there are amazing people who will help you reach your goals.

How has Meraki helped you achieve work-life balance and supported your career development?

I have always been able to find work-life balance at Meraki. While there is a lot of work to do, the Meraki philosophy is “human first.” Leaders are flexible; they understand that people might need to integrate their personal lives with their professional lives. I’ve also been supported to grow at Meraki. Tech and networking is a male-dominated industry, and historically men have more career opportunities in tech than women. However, at Meraki I have been encouraged to apply for new roles, certifications, and to level up my skill set. My managers are always supportive and have empowered me to grow and advance my career.

How has the ERO, Conexión, been supportive to you?

Being a leader of Conexión, an affinity group for the Latinx and allied community, has heightened my sense of belonging at Meraki. Conexión has helped me become an active participant in the community and exposed me to new events, conferences, and other Hispanic leaders in tech. It has opened new doors for me and helped me grow as a leader and organizer. It’s been a great experience, I would encourage anybody to join and participate.

What does Hispanic Heritage Month mean to you?

Hispanic Heritage Month is a big cultural celebration. It’s a special time to honor my heritage, family, and the people in my community and beyond. I come from a very warm and caring culture where family is at the core — this makes me really proud.

Interested in career opportunities with Cisco Meraki? Check out our careers site!

--

--