Humans of Meraki — I Belong Here

Jeremy Holland
Cisco Meraki
Published in
3 min readOct 5, 2023

Having the freedom to show up as your authentic self and feeling welcomed into a community isn’t always a given. That’s why at Meraki, we strive to build a culture that embraces everyone and fosters inclusivity. In celebration of Hispanic Heritage Month (September 15–October 15) we interviewed Yilva Clevenger, member of the Conexión employee resource organization (ERO), who shared her cultural pride and experience of working at Meraki.

Yilva Clevenger, Inside Sales Rep and Team Lead Within the U.S. Public Organization, El Dorado Hills, California

What attracted you to Meraki?

I’ve been in tech for ten years and worked in two successful tech startups prior to joining Meraki. Although I had positive experiences at the startups, I wanted to find a company that was bigger, public, and more secure. I also wanted to join a workplace that was progressive and had an inspiring culture. Meraki fit the bill on all accounts.

How has Meraki been a supportive and welcoming workplace for you?

Meraki has been welcoming to me in multiple ways; more than I can list. One aspect of the workplace that has made me feel particularly welcomed and supported are the employee resource organizations (EROs), which are affinity groups where Merakians can network, build community, and spread awareness. I’m a member of Women of Meraki, Parents of Meraki, and Conexión, an ERO for the Latinx and allied community. Since my identity is multifaceted, it has been great to feel seen and supported on various levels. No matter who you are or how you identify, there is always space for you at Meraki.

How are you able to show up as your authentic self at Meraki?

For starters, I never have to compromise who I am. I always feel comfortable showing up as myself and being authentic. When I joined Meraki, I started on a sales team that focused on Latin America customers, which meant that I could speak in Spanish. When I spoke in Spanish, I felt confident in my selling abilities, but when I needed to speak in English, I felt less confident because of my accent. However, I was able to overcome my insecurities through encouragement from my leaders and my own willingness to step out of my comfort zone. I entered the Meraki Pitch Olympics (a global sales pitch competition) where I was able to practice my pitch in both Spanish and English. That experience boosted my confidence and contributed to my success. My leaders also reminded me that many Merakians (and customers) also have accents, and that I am good the way that I am.

How has Conexión supported you?

My experience as a member of Conexión has been fantastic — it’s been a beacon of support for me in many ways. Not only is it a community, it’s a dedicated space where I can share some of my most treasured cultural traditions, like the Day of the Dead, a celebration that honors the lives of friends and family who have passed away.

When I moved to the United States from Mexico, I brought my cultural pride along with me, so it’s been great to be able to celebrate my heritage at work. Conexión isn’t the only example of how my culture has been honored at Meraki; when I walked into a Meraki office for the first time I saw flags hanging from every country in Latin America. When I saw that, I felt at home.

What does Hispanic Heritage Month mean to you?

When I moved to the United States 20 years ago, I was confronted by uncomfortable situations where people would make comments about my accent or heritage. To me, Hispanic Heritage Month is an opportunity to dispel stereotypes and demonstrate who we truly are. We are family-oriented people, we enjoy celebrating life, and we are very hard-working. Moreover, we want the same things that most people want: for our families to thrive and to contribute to our country. Hispanic Heritage Month is about celebrating our culture and what makes us unique and recognizing the similarities between all people.

Interested in career opportunities with Cisco Meraki? Check out our careers site!

--

--