Life As a MerakiTern: Inclusivity Instills Confidence

Matt Slagle
Cisco Meraki
Published in
3 min readMay 22, 2024

At Cisco Meraki, the energy and passion of our employees shapes our dynamic community and empowers us to make intuitive and secure technology for our customers. Our ongoing series, Life As a MerakiTern, offers insights into the intern journey and showcases the diverse career trajectories available to emerging talent. We’ll also explore how our culture and values empower employees to achieve their goals, foster connections, and make a significant impact at work and beyond. Welcome — we’re happy you’re here.

For this series of Life As a MerakiTern, we interviewed Anabel Villalobos, a Software Engineering Intern on the Magnetic team. She shared about the culture at Meraki and her experience as an intern.

Anabel Villalobos, Software Engineering Intern on the Magnetic team (remote)

What were your expectations about your Meraki internship before you started and how did they align with your experiences during your internship?

The interview process provided a clear glimpse into what the internship experience would be like at Meraki. Through interviews and conversations with recruiters, I learned about the Meraki culture, which revealed how much Meraki cares about its employees. Everyone I spoke with was transparent and responsive, which set a standard for communication and support. Any questions I had were promptly addressed, which instilled confidence and ensured I was fully prepared for my first day.

What were your first impressions of Meraki?

When I started my internship, I felt nervous and battled with imposter syndrome because I had little previous experience in software engineering. However, Meraki reassured and welcomed me. Through support from my peers and managers, I was reminded that I belonged at Meraki and was treated as a valued team member.

The encouragement I received during my internship reaffirmed my confidence and exemplified the caring and inclusive culture at Meraki.

How did Meraki make your internship special?

Meraki provided me with an exceptional experience during my internship. Not only was I entrusted to make meaningful contributions to the codebase, but I also had the opportunity to experience the life of a developer in an office setting. After years of working remotely, it was eye-opening to join the Magnetic team at their off-site in Chicago. I enjoyed interacting face-to-face with teammates during coffee breaks, lunches, team dinners, and other activities. This immersive, in-person experience not only facilitated unforgettable connections but also ignited a newfound desire to transition to on-site work in the future.

What has been your experience with the Meraki culture and values?

“Meraki” is a Greek word that means “to do something with soul, creativity, or love.” This sentiment anchors the Meraki culture and encourages employees to infuse their energy, passion, and creativity into their work. Through unwavering support, Meraki empowers interns and employees to achieve their goals and pursue their interests. During my internship, I had the privilege of contributing meaningfully, collaborating with inspiring people, and learning from exceptional engineers on the Magnetic team. The Meraki culture and values profoundly shaped my experience.

Interested in career opportunities with Cisco Meraki? Check out our careers site!

--

--