Life As a MerakiTern: The Internship That Changed My Life

Matt Slagle
Cisco Meraki
Published in
2 min readJul 17, 2024

At Cisco Meraki, the energy and passion of our employees shapes our dynamic community and empowers us to make intuitive and secure technology for our customers. Our ongoing series, Life As a MerakiTern, offers insights into the intern journey and showcases the diverse career trajectories available to emerging talent. We’ll also explore how our culture and values support employees to achieve their goals, foster connections, and make a significant impact at work and beyond. Welcome — we’re happy you’re here.

Issac Thompson, Intern on the Network Support Engineering team, Chicago, IL

What was the most profound insight you learned during your internship at Cisco Meraki?

The most significant lesson I learned during my internship was the value of embracing curiosity and the importance of asking questions. Employees at Meraki are in a perpetual state of learning. There’s an unwavering dedication to continuous growth and development, which permeates the Meraki culture. Witnessing high-level professionals learn alongside interns like me was an unparalleled source of motivation, one that truly sets Meraki apart from any other experience.

How does Meraki foster a welcoming and inclusive environment?

At Meraki, I wasn’t treated like an ‘intern’ but rather a full-time employee. The inclusive and collaborative culture at Meraki fosters a profound sense of belonging. As an intern, I seamlessly integrated into my team and felt welcomed. The caring environment at Meraki made me feel valued.

How has Meraki influenced your future?
Since Cisco and Meraki are industry leaders, the experience of working here is unmatched. I can honestly say that this internship changed my life for the better. The knowledge I’ve gained and the support I’ve received from my team have given me the confidence and belief that I can accomplish my aspirations.

What does “Meraki Magic” mean to you?

Meraki Magic is created by the people who work here. Meraki employees come from many different backgrounds, perspectives, and experiences, which inform and inspire our work. Since collaboration is a large aspect of Meraki culture, Meraki Magic is created when our dynamic community of peers works together to innovate.

What advice would you give to future interns?

My advice is to fully immerse yourself in every aspect of the internship experience. Explore the city, embrace new connections, and seize opportunities to bond with your colleagues. Meraki offers a wealth of resources to its interns and makes sure to harness them to their fullest extent so they learn as much as possible. The internship will be over before you know it, so make the most of your time!

Interested in career opportunities with Cisco Meraki? Check out our careers site!

--

--