Meraki Magic: Creating Products with Love and Soul

Jeremy Holland
Cisco Meraki
Published in
2 min readAug 17, 2022

Sara Hosseini is a person of many talents. In addition to studying software engineering at the University of Waterloo in Ontario, Canada, she also joined Meraki as a product management intern in the winter of 2022. When Sara isn’t working or studying, you may find her volunteering for social causes, creating digital art, painting landscapes, or baking sweet treats. Sara shared her future-shaping internship experience with us.

How did Meraki make your internship special?

Meraki created a wonderful environment for me to cultivate and grow my skills as a proficient product manager. Meraki helped my fellow interns and I stay connected through engaging virtual events where we got to know each other and grow together. Along with Meraki’s positive and welcoming environment, my mentor and team ensured I had what I needed to succeed. Throughout my internship, I felt that I was treated like a full-time Merakian!

How has your Meraki internship influenced your future?
During my internship, I had the opportunity to work on multiple projects, gain various experiences, and make meaningful connections with other Merakians. Before my internship, I didn’t know the meaning of the word “Meraki.” Later, I learned that “Meraki” is a Greek word that means “something done with soul, creativity, or love.” Meraki’s namesake influenced my perspective on my future by inspiring me to create meaningful work from the soul.

What does Meraki Magic mean to you?

To me, Meraki Magic is created by Meraki’s welcoming culture and the people. I felt so welcomed on my first day, it was as if I had worked at Meraki for years! Meraki creates its products with love and soul — by doing this they create magic for their customers.

What advice would you give future interns?

I would advise future interns to meet new people and ask plenty of questions! Meraki does a wonderful job of cultivating meaningful and supportive internships. Since everyone at Meraki is willing and ready to help you, take that opportunity to grow your wings and soar.

Interested in an internship with us? Learn more here.

--

--