Big Data: The Tool that is Enriching your Life Every Second

Sunny Zhang
CISS AL Big Data
Published in
4 min readDec 10, 2021

--

This might sound impossible, but the only limit for big data right now might only be time and energy. Shopping online is one of my hobbies, and I do it 24/7. I no longer need to worry about going outside once a day to make purchases everywhere. Making a purchase online is so convenient, and I could focus on other things while still enjoying the shopping experience.

Darwish, Riham. “Online Shopping: Have We Been Spending More Money Than Ever?” Al Bawaba, https://www.albawaba.com/business/online-shopping-spending-more-money-ever.

But how do I know which product suits me when I cannot test or look at it in person? If multiple brands make the same product, how do I prefer one over another without buying all of them and taking time to test them? There is now a risk of spending money on things that I could not guarantee its worth. Inconveniently, I look at all the reviews of all the products that I might consider buying. I research the companies and brands, and I even go so deep into looking at the ingredients and origins of the products. But my shopping experience becomes a chaos of me being stressed and annoyed in making the correct decision.

“Is There Virtue In Indecision? You Decide.” Public Service Division, https://www.psd.gov.sg/challenge/ideas/big-idea/is-there-virtue-in-indecision-you-decide.

Usually, and unfortunately, it ends with “eeny meeny miny moe.” But are the reviews, the comments, the information, the likes and dislikes not all just data? I could categorize them based on numbers or good or bad. If big data can make models that analyze trends, then it can be applied to help me target the best products with many considerations already sorted out. I could see a correlation between different factors that led me to an answer that would be much more considerate than my random predictions. Big data will organize all the data of the products and accurately reflect on which I should buy. I no longer need to make a chart by hand that lists out all the whys, hoping to help me find an answer. The reasons are no longer critical for me to spend time on. Big data gives me insights based on scientific models instead of irregular self-determined answers by getting all the reviews, information, and likes and dislikes. Another goal of big data in shopping that can lead to convenience and better quality of living is to interpret the best deal when buying a product.

Amster, Ari, and Ari Amster. “Big Data and Customer Service: A Guide to Call Center Analytics.” Qubole, 9 Sept. 2021, https://www.qubole.com/blog/call-center-analytics/.

Using a tracking system, a trend of which brands have sales and when the sale time happens can be collected and put together to alert customers. A way could be tracking the number of times a product is being bought at a time, and by connecting the customers, this product can be specifically recommended to its needed consumers during an appropriate time. We could collect information about stores in a country or region and analyze its customs and holidays and predict when some products are most available and the cheapest at a specific time period. We could collect the information of coupons and notify customers with coupons of products they might want to buy when already looking through the cart or the wanted list and noting the time the product was put into favorites. The “giants” in online shopping such as Target and Amazon are all using big data analytics to benefit their customers! Since there are so many different kinds of demands for different things, big data could almost improve the living of everyone around the world by using different data points and customizing different data analyzing processes. Big data find better deals on consumer products, allowing them to aggregate lists of popular products from expensive luxuries to everyday utilities. By already rating the web and tracking down similar products, big data helps consumers make the best possible purchases, giving them more buying power and sparing their budgets.

--

--