South Philly Resident Alerted to Fire on His Own Block

Before hearing sirens, smelling smoke, or seeing flames, Citizen user ‘petz215’ received a notification

Citizen
CITIZEN Blog
1 min readNov 25, 2019

--

Citizen user ‘petz215’ was getting ready to leave his South Philadelphia home for a dentist appointment on November 18th when he received the Citizen notification above.

“If there were a house fire that close to me, I would definitely already know about it,” he thought. “Sure enough, I stepped outside to see a raging fire.”

He canceled his appointment to monitor the fire and make sure it didn’t spread closer to his house.

The fire destroyed the house where it sparked, and affected two neighboring homes.

Multiple Citizen users recorded video of the fire

“I was astonished. Not only did I find out about this nearby fire with a push notification, but there was already live video of something that started minutes ago. I couldn’t believe how fast it happened.”

Share your own Citizen story: support@citizen.com.

--

--