Rhythm Of Asheville

Hilary Bennett
City Life
Published in
4 min readOct 3, 2023
Iconic water tower and graffiti in Asheville’s River Arts District

I’ve been in western North Carolina for a little over three weeks now, and have only driven to the city of Asheville a total of three times. In those visits, I feel like I’ve already experienced my fill of art, culture and gotten a sense of what this city has to offer.

This place is alive with art and music. My first trip to Asheville happened to be during a monthly event called Second Saturday (guess when), which features open galleries, artists doing their thing live, music, food and more.

On a beautiful and sunny day, I took a leisurely stroll around the River Arts District, meandering from one art studio to the next. Each studio had at least one artist inside, who were all friendly and offered to answer any questions I might have.

Much of the artists’ work is on display for purchase, but it was quite enjoyable to look. Looking back, I wish I had taken a few of the artists’ friendly suggestions to ask questions.

Where do you get your inspiration for your subject? What does the process of glazing look like? How often does your work actually turn out the way you envision it?

I’m sure any one of the artists would have been happy to answer any of those questions. I did have a lovely chat with one artist however, about how much she loved living in this city.

My second trip into the city was as cultural and educational as it was fun. Every Friday, Saturday and Sunday night from May to October, there are free outdoor theater performances.

Image by Tempus Fugit Designs

On a clear evening in September (it had been rained out the night before), I packed myself a picnic with salad, a sandwich and some hot tea, brought a blanket and a camping chair, and thoroughly enjoyed myself as part of the audience of The Tempest, by none other than Shakespeare.

If Shakespeare isn’t your thing, don’t worry. The Montford Park Players put on a variety of plays every season. Wendy & Peter (a Peter Pan story) and Wonderland Legacies: Alice’s Adventures in Murderland are also playing this season.

Not having read anything from Shakespeare since high school, I felt like my brain got some good exercise during the performance as I watched. It was quite an entertaining show. Love story, comedy, murder plots and Celine Dion dance numbers were all a part.

The acting was excellent, and the participation from the audience made the show all the more wonderful. People gasped, laughed out loud, “aww”-ed and even made howling sounds from their seats.

During my most recent trip to Asheville, I went specifically for the weekly community drum circle. I thought I had arrived fairly early, but by 6:30PM on a Friday evening at Pritchard Park, the place was already booming with the sound of drums and full of people drumming, dancing and enjoying the spectacle.

Photo by Art Meripol

People with finger cymbals, scarves and tutus twirled around in bare feet with big smiles on their faces. The drummers, who all looked quite focused, moved their hands up and down to create a perfect groove. People with their dogs and children had their phones out, filming the whole scene, or watched from their seats, tapping their feet and bobbing their heads. Everyone was locked into the moment.

I felt almost instantly connected to this group of complete strangers as I arrived with my small djembe. I was a little nervous to jump in. These drummers looked so serious and sounded so talented! But I knew that this event was open and welcoming to all. I found myself a seat on a rock next to a bubble-blowing machine, and positioned myself with my drum.

Time seemed to fly by. I was most focused on this one woman who appeared to be directing the main group of drummers. She used animated gestures to get her messages across — faster, louder, softer, STOP. I tried my best to follow the beat and the cues this director was giving.

The hours passed like they were minutes. My shoulders and hands were getting tired and sore, although I wanted to keep playing. I noticed a few other drummers get up from their drums and start dancing. I could do that too, right? I felt a little shy, but I looked around.

This was a place where everyone was totally free to express themselves. However they wanted. Without judgment.

What a magical and rare thing to be a part of. And this happens every Friday night?? I know I need more of this in my life.

I danced for several minutes, then drummed for several more. I practically had to pry myself away from the place, and did not stay until the end. By 9 o’clock, the party was still going strong. By this point, several drummers had left, and several more arrived. Several passersby also stopped by, tipsy from drinks with dinner, or just drunk on the drums. Happy faces jumped onto the dance floor, twirled around and hit a few available drums.

I’ve visited this city three times, and I know I need to experience more. Nightly live music at almost every bar and on the street, delicious food (find some barbecue), art galleries galore. This city has left me wanting. I’ll be back soon.

--

--

Hilary Bennett
City Life

Lifelong reader and passionate writer. Music, health, food, anything thought-provoking or controversial. Find me at hilaryb92@yahoo.com.