Where To Get Good Coffee In The United States

A self-proclaimed coffee snob’s opinion

Rebecca Andrews
City Life
4 min readJul 13, 2023

--

Image by author

I’ll admit it, I am a coffee snob.

I live in a city where coffee is taken very seriously, it is an art.

Last month I traveled to the United States and I was determined to find coffee that is just as good as it is back home. This was always going to be tough because I am biased. During previous visits to the United States, I have always been drawn to Starbucks for my coffee fix even though I would never usually go to Starbucks at home. The reason I do this is because I know that I can get consistent coffee from Starbucks and as it is everywhere you go in the United States it is a safe and reliable option.

When I am getting a coffee it needs to be reliably adequate otherwise I am not going to have a good time. I still went to Starbucks during my week-long trip to the United States, but I did try 3 new coffee shops that I think are worth mentioning.

Blue Bottle Coffee, Venice Los Angeles

Image by author

Website: https://bluebottlecoffee.com/us/eng
Drink: Ethiopia drip coffee
Food: Croissant

I visited Blue Bottle Coffee during my layover in Los Angeles, after a 13-hour flight I was in desperate need of some fresh air and a great coffee. I immediately fell in love with the area. Every local was out with their dog and it looked like Blue Bottle Coffee was the place to be.

The baristas were very friendly and talked me through the menu and recommended what I should go for. I landed on a V60 Ethiopia drip coffee, it was a deliciously strong and fruity coffee that hit the spot perfectly. I paired the coffee with a plain croissant which made a perfect combination.

The indoor area of the cafe is quite small, but there is adequate seating outside where you can sit and watch the world go by. I recommend Blue Bottle Coffee to coffee lovers everywhere, they have locations in various locations in California, as well as Chicago, New York, Boston, and even Japan!

Reliable Break Service Blueprint Coffee, St. Louis

Image by author

Website: https://blueprintcoffee.com/
Drink: Coconut Cold brew with oat milk
Food: Buttermilk biscuit with butter and jam

Blueprint Coffee is a coffee roastery based in Saint Louis that has four coffee bars within the city. The Watson location my friend and I visited runs out of a converted car repair garage which is how the name “Reliable Break Service’’ was formed.

The atmosphere inside the store was wonderful, there were a lot of people catching up with friends as well as people working on their laptops. It was a beautiful summer day in Saint Louis and we were very pleased to find an outdoor courtyard with tables to sit at. As a result of the beautiful weather we had to order a cold brew, it would have been rude not to.

The barista recommended their cold brew with milk and coconut syrup. It was a delightfully refreshing coffee, and the subtle hint of coconut was a perfect match to the beautiful day. We also enjoyed buttermilk biscuits with butter and jam that were melt-in-your-mouth delicious. If you are ever in Saint Louis be sure to check out Blueprint coffee.

Philz Coffee Chase Center, San Francisco

Image by author

Website: https://philzcoffee.com/
Drink: Jacob’s Wonderbar (hot black coffee)
Food: Seasonal fruit danish

I had to try Philz Coffee, mainly because of watching Emma Chamberlain from YouTube drink it for years. The Chase Center location in San Francisco seemed to be in the middle of the central business district so I had fun watching people come and go.

There were a lot of people who were ordered to take their coffees back to their offices, as well as colleagues having meetings in the store. The staff were very friendly and there were really good vibes between the baristas while they were taking care of their different stations. There were plenty of options for seating inside with tables and bar learners, and there were seats and tables outside. I managed to grab a seat inside during the rush to sit and enjoy my black coffee and danish.

I would liken Philz to Starbucks where you can get a reliably adequate coffee that is not the best but not the worst. So, if you’re wanting reliability but want to branch away from Starbucks, Philz is a great option.

Whether you are a coffee snob or just need a reliable coffee I hope this article helps inspire you to branch out and explore the different coffee your city has to offer.

--

--

Rebecca Andrews
City Life

Operations professional working at a software company, living in Wellington, New Zealand.