AI MUST READS — W12 2018, by City AI

Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning and related fields are in a constant state of change. We want to inform but also encourage discussions on well presented topics we think are necessary in the context of putting AI into production. Every week we’re picking applied AI’s best articles plus adding a discussion starter

Joe Lord
Applied Artificial Intelligence
3 min readMar 22, 2018

--

1. Robots are the ultimate job stealers. Blame them, not immigrants.

Before I start talking about this weeks articles, I’ll admit (and this isn't aimed specifically at the above article, it just happened to fall into the category) that its getting harder and harder to curate diverse articles every week. Perhaps I’m not looking in the right places but almost every article I’m currently reading seems to fall into 3/4 categories that can be easily defined. So please, if you ever stumble across an article that does talks about something different or new, I’d love to read it.

However enough about that, Andy O'Sullivan’s above article is different in the singular fact that it comes across as more of a discussion piece than a statement of fact. There are numerous articles talking about whether or not AI will be “the end of jobs as we know it” but very few seem to stimulate productive conversations. I’d suggest reading the replies that people have written to this article, I personally found them as interesting as the article itself and its a great example of ‘how’ we should be discussing these problems. (but of course that's just my opinion)

Also, entirely irrelevant but as cheesy as it may be I love the “ With great power, comes great responsible coding!” line.

2. Can We Keep Our Biases from Creeping into AI?

This week has been rather slow in terms of the number of articles that have been uploaded and so I’ve taken this as an opportunity to look at some older articles from this year.

Before I say anything else, I worked with/for Kriti Sharma, the articles author, during my time at Sage, which was also my first introduction to AI and the tech industry as a whole. Because of this, not only do I find myself agreeing with Kriti’s opinions the majority of the time (nature vs nurture comes into play here) but I’ll openly admit I have a bias towards her work.

On that note, I’d suggest reading this article along with any others she’s written that you can find. Perhaps she hasn’t spoken about any ‘ground-breaking’ ideas, but she writes eloquently and fluently and is a great starter point for anyone trying to avoid bias within their own AI.

3. How we are getting +105K people to use our ChatBot

In W10, I used another of Justin Lee’s articles — ‘Why chatbots will change marketing as we know it’, I found myself in disagreement with the article and Justin. The above is another of Justin’s articles and once again I find myself in disagreement with his enthusiasm for ChatBots.

However! I would be doing myself and him a disservice if I didn’t keep an open mind, I may not agree entirely, however if you were to use this article as a set of rules for building your own ChatBot then I can’t see you going too wrong. Justin is clearly an extremely smart man with great knowledge in this area and to be honest you’re probably better off listening to his opinion than my own!

Send me any articles to joe@city.ai, whether they be your own, a colleagues or your mortal enemies.

--

--

Joe Lord
Applied Artificial Intelligence

Innovation Coordinator at Digital Catapult and Intern at City.AI curating weekly ‘ AI Must Reads’.