The Most Critical and Compelling Mission in Healthcare

Cityblock has proven that their model works, and now it’s time to rapidly scale. I’m privileged to join as COO.

Cityblock Health
Cityblock Health
3 min readMay 6, 2021

--

Mitch Betses

My name is Mitch Betses and I am privileged to be Cityblock’s new Chief Operating Officer.

I joined Cityblock as I believe it has the most critical and compelling mission in healthcare today, and I want to leverage my years of healthcare operations leadership experience to ensure the success and scalability of this most impactful model.

Delivering high-quality comprehensive healthcare to the communities that have been systemically underserved is the most critical and compelling mission in healthcare today.

For over thirty years, I have been dedicated to improving both the experiential and clinical outcomes for patients — first as a pharmacist and then as an executive leader in roles such as Executive Vice President of CVS Health, Chief Operating Officer of Beacon Health Options, and CEO/COO of Haven Healthcare. Across each of these companies, I had the privilege of being accountable for the entire member experience, shaping the full suite of clinical programs across payer, provider, and pharmacy, all while driving consistency and performance within a distributed delivery model.

In my many years as a healthcare executive, I have never seen an organization build programs, services and infrastructure focused on solving the most significant barriers to delivering optimal care to our underserved population.

To me, Cityblock is the leading organization in the country that is truly making deep investments and producing innovations in how we deliver care, with a focus on Medicaid beneficiaries, Dual Eligibles, and some of the most underserved individuals in the country. The Cityblock team has also proven that their model works, and now it’s time to rapidly scale.

I am thrilled to be here to build consistency and dependability in our member experience, increase clinical program impact, and strengthen our organizational effectiveness so that we can build out our model across the country to meet the ambitious goal of serving ten million members in ten years.

As much as I am energized by the Cityblock mission, I am equally motivated by the Cityblock team. I am impressed by the individuals who have been here since day one and who are contributing in monumental ways.

I am in awe of the commitment, compassion and capability of our colleagues working on the ground across our markets. Just this week alone, I’m joined by Piyush Gupta, Cityblock’s new Chief Health Officer — Community Care; Chris Aguwa, Cityblock’s new Head of Growth — Markets; and Sabrina Williams, Cityblock’s new Head of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, and Talent Management. I am sure you’ll be hearing more from them soon on their personal motivations for joining an organization like Cityblock.

Finally, I have come to deeply believe that Cityblock is a place to come to change lives. I invite you to join us: Please take a look at our careers page and please be in touch if you think your experiences and skill sets can contribute to this noble mission.

Mitch Betses joins Cityblock Health as Chief Operating Officer

--

--