Meet the candidates for the 2017 Spring Elections!

Welfare & Education Officer
citycsu
Published in
7 min readMay 6, 2017

Throughout Week 9, all of the undergraduate students will be called to vote for the next Students’ Union!

But who are the students who are determined to win a place in the four available CSU Offices? In this post, you’ll get acquainted with the candidates of these Elections and hopefully you’ll be helped with your decision making.

Don’t forget, your vote is your voice! You will shape the next Students’ Union; the student government which will represent you for the upcoming Academic Year.

Candidates for President

Rina Basholli

Ms Basholli is a 2nd Level Computer Science student, coming from Kosovo. She has experience in various fields and currently coordinates the Technical Team of this year’s Student Spring Symposium. Bellow you may find her statement:

“Hi students, I’m Rina Basholli.

Born and lived in Prishtina (Kosovo) till the age of 12, to move then to my father’s birthplace Samadrexhe — Vushtrri where I currently reside in.

My leadership and collaborative skills were built starting at a very early age and this is why I took the courage to run for City’s Union President.

Only 10 when I decided on creating and leading my own Theatrical Club for my primary school “Mustafe Venhari” — Vushtrri, as a member of “National Theatre for Youth of Prishtina”, to continue after, with the first place from the Startify7 Academy organised by the European Union for the best team collaboration for the GetMeHome platform and recognised as the youngest winner participant (besides the best project idea) !

Currently, the coordinator of the Technical Team of this years Student Spring Symposium here at City College!

I was for two years in your shoes and watched carefully what you enjoy doing more!
Having had great examples from past years president, I feel that together with your help I can continue the tradition of having a full experience student life, from easing your academic life to parallely continuing to add more fun towards organising events and exciting trips!

Sounds wierd!? Believe me, you can always trust a creative computer scientist!

There’s a lot more that I can offer besides my experience and commitment!
Allow me to me prove this!
Help me to help you, by choosing me for your next President!”

Marko Jovanovski

Mr Jovanovski is a 2nd Level Psychology student, coming from FYR Macedonia. He is the current Sports & Activities Officer and former Student Senator. Bellow you may find his statement:

“Hi there!

My name is Marko Jovanovski I am a Psychology student, running for President.

As the current CSU Sports and Activities Officer, I have acquired the necessary skills and knowledge to effectively and successfully serve as the CSU President.

I have been actively involved in organizing the football tournament, the first CSU pool tournament, the upcoming basketball tournament, as well as the trips and parties I hope you’ve enjoyed.

I have also been a student Class Representative during my first year. Therefore, I know how to help students when dealing with academically issues and provide fun activities for you by organizing parties, trips and sports events.

As a President, I will make sure that every student is represented and that his or her voice is heard.

I look forward to serve our CITY College community by effectively and successfully bringing the concerns and needs of the students to the CITY College Faculty and Administration. I believe in an open door policy and town hall meetings. I have been lucky to work with a great team this year and I wish to expand on the work we have done so far.

Electing me as your President guarantees that your concerns and needs will not only be heard but they will also be addressed. Besides helping academically, I am here to provide you fun. We are students and we need to party like students!
Therefore, I plan to organize a lot of parties, having a must-party every month, as well as organizing more trips in Greece and abroad.

Thank you for taking time to read this and I hope you will trust me with your vote.”

Candidates for Welfare & Education

Klajd Arqimandriti

Mr Arqimandriti is a 1st Level Computer Science student, coming from Albania. He is currently a Student Senator for his class. Bellow you may find his statement:

“Hello, my name is Klajd! I am a Computer Science undergrad student with a passion to connect people and ideas through technology, more than just dealing with electronic machines and computing.

College is a place where people exchange different cultures, experiences and knowledge. But it is also a place for them to have their voice heard and to see their desires and goals become a reality. Thus, the reason I am running for Welfare and Education Officer is a plain and straightforward.

I want to get things done and to listen to the student’s problems and requests, so that these requests can be addressed and solved appropriately and efficiently. “

Euron Xhelili

Mr Xhelili is a 1st Level Business student, coming from Kosovo. Bellow you may find his statement:

“Hello my friends,

My name is Euron Xhelili and I am a business student. This is my first year in the college and during this time I have become friends with a lot of you through different occasions. I have come to conclude that the university is a place filled with great students who have outstanding ideas and who need their voice to be heard.

As you all see, I am running for the student welfare and education officer. The reason why I saw myself appropriate for the position is because I was always open to everyone and always free to cooperate with different people for the common good. I believe that if we all unite we will make changes that will be noticed. If elected I will work on that direction and don’t forget TOGETHER WE THRIVE.

Sincerely Yours,
Euron Xhelili

Candidates for Sports & Activities

Couros Honaramiz

Mr Honaramiz is a 1st Level Psychology student, from Greece. He has experience in various sports, including football, basketball, volley and rowing. He is currently a Student Senator for his class. Bellow you may find his statement:

“Hi, my name is Couros Honaramiz and I am from the department of Psychology. It would be an honour and a great pleasure of mine to be able to manage and organize sports and activities events for the students of our college, in order to provide them with great student life experiences. I have seen the time and effort that each member of the CSU has dedicated for the events and activities this year; the joy the students gain from such events, is one of the many reasons why I am inspired to run in these elections and to have the chance to do the same for you.

I have had a great time participating in group sports with other students and I had the opportunity to meet many new people. I do believe that I have the qualities required to organize events, and to fulfil the responsibilities of the CSU Officer for Sports and Activities. My experience as class Senator/Representative and past athleticism in sports such as rowing has helped me strengthen my teamwork abilities and provide student representation. Providing a voice for the students will give us the opportunity to try more and new sport events & activities.”

Bedri Aliu

Mr Aliu is a 2nd Level student of English Language and Linguistics. Since his early childhood he fell in love with sports, especially basketball. Before going away for College, he lived in his home town Vushtrri, Kosovo. Now, he currently resides in Thessaloniki.

Candidates for PR & Communication

George Krystallis

Mr Krystallis is a 1st Level Business student, from Greece. Bellow, you may find his statement:

“Hello everyone, my name is George Krystallis, and I am a first level student in the Business Administration & Economics Dpt.

I am running for the position of PR and communication officer because I believe that we together with your support shape the future of City College. I pledge to represent all of you and your opinions the best way possible.

And so I kindly ask for your vote in the upcoming CSU elections.

I would love to see your thoughts and ideas for the next year by posting them at my social media pages found bellow.

Like on Facebook: Vote 4 George
Follow on Twitter: twitter.com/MyVote4George
Visit my Website: myvote4george.org

Andreas Ballas

Mr Ballas is a 2nd Year Business student from Greece.

As always, stay tuned on our social media for all the latest updates and developments!

If you have any questions on the Elections, please don’t hesitate to contact Diamant, CSU President, at csupresident@city.academic.gr or Ms Kyriakou, Director of the Student Services Dpt., at tkyriakou@city.academic.gr

--

--

Welfare & Education Officer
citycsu
Editor for

Welfare & Education Officer for CITY Students’ Union (CSU) of the International Faculty of the University of Sheffield, CITY College.