Kit Lykos: Security at the Forefront

CivicActions
CivicActions
Published in
2 min readJun 10, 2024

We spoke with CivicActioner Kit Lykos, DevOps Engineer on our GlobalNET team, about their passion for DevSecOps, the importance of site security, and their upcoming first anniversary at CivicActions!

What is the most rewarding part of your job?

When it comes down to it, the most rewarding part is feeling like I am a part of something that is making the world a better and safer place for everyone. It is something that has always been important to me so it’s good to work for a place that is on the same page.

What excites you most about your work?

I have always loved learning. Part of working a DevSecOps position is that you are constantly learning new tools to better protect and support our users and site. It really keeps me motivated.

How do we optimize security on projects? Why is this important to you?

The work we do is important and our users should feel safe using our products. I enjoy knowing that I can help make that a reality for them. In a previous position, I saw how a lax approach to security can have serious fallout when there was a compromised password. It feels good to be somewhere so committed to security.

How long have you been working at CivicActions? What do you find unique about the company culture?

I am coming up on my first anniversary at CivicActions. I love how supportive everyone is. As someone with a dynamic disability, its means a lot knowing the team is willing to work with me so that I can be successful. I haven’t had that in the past at jobs other places, so it‘s especially meaningful.

Learn more about our work on GlobalNET for the Defense Security Cooperation Agency (DSCA).

--

--

CivicActions
CivicActions

Building digital services that work for everyone.