Why DEIA Matters

CivicActions
CivicActions
Published in
2 min readOct 10, 2023

CivicActioner Tatiana Hernandez, People Operations Professional and DEIA Committee Facilitator, recently acquired her certification from Academy to Innovate Human Resources (AIHR) in Diversity, Equity, Inclusion & Belonging (DEIB). Here are some of her thoughts about the importance of DEIA!

Plants surround a handwritten sign that says “You belong”
Photo courtesy of Unsplash

Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Accessibility (DEIA) isn’t just a buzzword for me; it’s a deeply held belief and a personal commitment. Here’s why DEIA matters to me:

Equality is Fundamental: I believe everyone deserves equal opportunities, regardless of their background. DEIA is about dismantling systemic biases and creating a fair world.

Human Potential: Diversity brings different perspectives and talents to the table. Inclusion lets us tap into the full potential of humanity, driving innovation and progress.

Personal Growth: Engaging with diverse voices has broadened my horizons, deepened my empathy, and enriched my life. Learning from others is a journey of self-discovery.

Professional Impact: Diverse teams are more creative, productive, and make better decisions. Inclusive workplaces foster happier employees and thriving organizations.

Personal Experiences: Facing discrimination throughout my life drives my determination to make the world more equitable for all.

Continual Learning: DEIA work is ongoing, and I’m committed to learning and improving, one step at a time.

Obtaining the DEIB certificate was an impactful experience. Being able to explain and understand the different categories of being diverse, while updating my practices to improve supporting DEIA provided such a feeling of growth. I not only intend to use these practices within my role as People Operations Professional and facilitator of our DEIA (Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Accessibility) Committee, but I also intend to make DEIA a part of everything I do.

--

--

CivicActions
CivicActions

Building digital services that work for everyone.