In Defense of Stress

Lizzie Siegle
Clarifai Champions
Published in
5 min readSep 27, 2016

Or, how being insane keeps me sane, how to remember your passion, and a few productivity hacks.

I grew up in Silicon Valley, so I know a thing or two about being surrounded by success, about being surrounded by innovation, and about being surrounded by intense competition (although having a twin brother who I was often compared to helped with this, as well.) How do people in tech manage this, and even thrive off of this stress and immense pressure to perform? To succeed? How do college students do the same?

Tech companies were only a short train or BART ride away from my home growing up.

This semester, high school friends have asked me how I manage my time. How I make the time to be a part of Clarifai Champions, play Division 3 college tennis, manage my computer science major, work as an undergraduate TA for Intro to CS class, write Medium posts, prepare for summer internship interviews, etc…

And the thing is, I wonder too. It’s been a tough first four weeks of school, but I’m amazed at how much I’ve learned not just from classes, but also from classmates, professors, teammates, and some high school and middle school girls I gave a talk and workshop to. I’m amazed at how I’ve been stressed yet happy, pushing myself out of my comfort zone (which is where magic happens.)

Why should you be busy in college with activities that aren’t necessarily connected to your future job? Why should you be busy?

  1. That’s the thing about not just college, but also life— learning happens everywhere and anywhere, and from all types of people. Different perspectives and backgrounds help shape how students think, act, and learn in ways that, though they’re not necessarily related to one’s major, are related to life, to interpersonal skills, and to people in general.
  2. Being busy keeps you productive. I’ve found that it’s a circular relationship — I get more done when I have more on my plate because it forces me to be productive and efficient with my time. It forces me to sacrifice going out some weekend nights, sacrifice joining a club, and forces me to, yes, sacrifice some social outings. And that’s alright! Because…
  3. Being busy teaches you how not just to manage time and be more productive, but to prioritize what’s important to you. It’s not about having the time, but about making the time. If it’s not important to you, then it’s not worth your time, so you won’t make the time. Yes, after my summer internship, I feel that some of my more theoretical CS classes will not help me in my future job — and yet, I also understand how they teach us how to think critically and analytically, how to problem solve, and, most importantly, how to learn. As a software engineer, evangelist, or anyone in tech, you have to know how to learn — and that’s something all (or at least most) CS classes do.
As some posters at Facebook HQ declare, do the most important things.

4. Classes and academics are good for your mind and good for your future, but extracurricular activities are good for your soul. There’s no better feeling than bonding with teammates on and off the court, or working together as a part of a club. Being a part of something bigger than yourself helps you learn teamwork, persistence, and collaboration, things that you will definitely use in the work force.

5. Now that I’m out of high school, I don’t remember stress from or what I did in classes all that much. I remember things like student government, tennis, track, basketball, and softball teams, marching band, and my after-school jobs. These made my high school experience what it was, making me happy. Knowing that I had track from 3:30–4:45 PM and had to shelve at the library from 5–8 twice a week made me get more done before and after those.

So what?

Yes, sometimes I question why I am a part of different groups and activities both on and off campus that don’t relate to tech. Yes, sometimes I take short five-to-ten minute dance breaks to destress and calm myself when code frustrates me or when I feel I’m too busy. Tennis is also a stress-buster. Yet at the end of the day, I’m happy. I feed my brain, my soul, and learn across disciplines and outside of the classroom. I get more done by being busy, and maybe, just maybe, you do too.

Some tools I recommend using to increase productivity:

  1. Wunderlist. I use both the Chrome extension and the iOS app to keep track of tasks, and to categorize them.
  2. Strict Workflow. Chrome extension and similar iOS app, Be Focused. It’s the Pomodoro method, blocking social media sites for 25 minutes, and then setting a timer for the 5-minute break. It didn’t work for a friend, but it really works for me because every time I think of taking a break or stopping, I see how many minutes I have left, and tell myself, just x-more minutes. Even if it’s only been, say, 3 minutes, I still see that break as a light at the end of a dark tunnel, and something to work for. To earn.
  3. One Tab. Chrome extension keeps different tabs organized, cutting clutter.
  4. Momentum. Chrome extension. Another to-do list accompanied by inspirational quotes.
  5. Pocket. Chrome extension and iOS app to save links, articles, and more for later.
  6. Giphy. Chrome extension to easily search for gifs to include in messages, emails, posts, and more. S/o to PubNub for this life hack! ❤
  7. NewsFeed Eradicator. Chrome extension. This helps you focus on yourself, not on mindlessly scrolling through unimportant Facebook news feed stories.
  8. Podcasts. I listen to tech ones, VC ones, history ones…you can find ones you like easily since there are so many, which can help you learn 24/7.
  9. Sleepbot. iOS app. It’s an alarm that wakes you up during the right time of a REM cycle. It can help you get by on less sleep (but don’t push it too much!)
  10. Coffee. Lots of it.

My two favorite Mac keyboard shortcuts:

  1. Ctrl-Cmd-Shift-4 instead of Cmd-Shift-4 for taking screenshots. The first one saves it to Clipboard instead of Desktop, again, stopping clutter.
  2. Cmd-Tab switches between apps so you don’t need to use the mouse or trackpad.

If you are stressed when doing something you love, then the stress is warranted — you just want to do your best, and be the best you can be. Remember to a) take breaks, b) remember why you started or why you’re doing what you’re doing, and c) write out goals and what you want to get done. Being stressed when doing what you love — I think that’s what passions are. You enjoy it, it means something to you, and it’s on your mind all the time.

Leave with this inspirational quote:

Of course it’s hard. It’s supposed to be hard. If it wasn’t hard, everyone would do it. The hard is what makes it great.” -A League of their Own

Do you have any favorite keyboard shortcuts, Chrome extensions, apps, or productivity and life hacks? Comment or tweet at me !

--

--