WHEN SELF CONFIDENCE IS LACKING

Tracy Yekaghe
The Journey
Published in
2 min readJan 12, 2019

Self confidence and esteem are so connected with each other that they affect all we think, do or say.

How many times have we refrained from going ahead with bringing that thought to reality just because of how uncertain we are about the outcome?

I recall one of the many times right from my days in the primary school where I would be in class and the teacher wants to know those having an answer to the question (through the raise of hands);

I thought I also knew the answer but wasn’t sure it would turn out correctly if I was selected to speak and so I allowed others speak only to realize to my dismay that I would have answered the same question better if only I had at least put up my hand!

If being confident could stimulate us to action, then self-esteem can also show us the extent to which we value ourselves or the power we allow ourselves to have.

Some of the implications of lacking self-confidence include:
1. Undervaluing or ignoring those qualities that easily and positively distinguish us from others.

2. Feelings of inferiority that could lead to unhealthy isolation (mentally or physically) leading to depression.

3. Negative self-talks that ultimately becomes a self-fulfilling prophesy.

4. Blaming others or some parts of your own body make-up for underachievement.

5. Every positive compliment from others is considered an insult or a tease.

I have had my fair share of virtually all the points I mentioned above which means I must really know the difference by now.

What have you been putting away for another day simply because you lacked the confidence or esteem to go ahead?

What do you think would have happened if you tried?

What if you decide to CUT THE CRAP! Begin and believe in yourself anyway?
#BeIntentional

--

--

Tracy Yekaghe
The Journey

I teach talented & skilled people including start-up entrepreneurs on how to create & sustain profitable systems they can earn from online, aside the impact.