Jess Brooks
Class Conscious
Published in
1 min readAug 9, 2014

--

“The Cost of Kale: How Foodie Trends Can Hurt Low-Income Families”

“Whether it’s the fetishization of hole-in-the-wall restaurants, twerking, or Sriracha, the gentrification cycle has birthed the momentary relevance of countless ideas and materials. Their blip on the mainstream radar is at once both novel and tragic; typecast Cuban groceries and Korean BBQ joints function as both pawn and king in the game of conspicuous consumption that manifests through venues ranging from Instagram to the Academy Awards.”
http://bitchmagazine.org/post/the-cost-of-kale-how-foodie-trends-can-hurt-low-income-families

The prose here is soooo good.
I guess the “what can we do about it?” here is to just be generally skeptical of food trendiness. Tbh, my addiction to kale is forever and always, but I no longer feel any need to get into quinoa.

FAQ

--

--

Jess Brooks
Class Conscious

A collection blog of all the things I am reading and thinking about; OR, my attempt to answer my internal FAQs.