Seeking a New Home In the Wild

Julia Bollentin
Classics of American Literature
1 min readDec 22, 2016

--

Description:

This painting is a depiction of Chris McCandless ditching modern society and venturing into the wild of Alaska.

Meaning behind the Painting:

While painting this I emphasized making the houses and the buildings in the city look very simple. I used the simplistic style to show how society lacks depth and meaning, and because of this it led Chris to want to ditch his lifestyle.

In addition, I painted the mountains and trees in a realistic style to show how the natural world is richer and had more meaning to Chris, further expanding upon his desire to leave his society and head into the wild.

Lastly, I tried to create a vague house shape out of the mountains and the trees. I did this to show how Chris found his new home in the wild, and that it was a place where he felt he belonged and where he could be true to himself.

--

--