The Social Life

Katie Harris
Classification and Division
4 min readMar 17, 2015

--

The schedule for my social life is a crisscrossed map that can be rather difficult to decode at times. Friday night I’ll go to the movies with one group of friends. Saturday I’ll meet a few other people for lunch. Sunday I might want some company while doing homework so I’ll invite over yet another group of friends to study with me.

Then I reflect. Who have I neglected to spend time with this week? I have to start planning my outings for the next week, doing my best to fit in as many people as possible; trying to nurture as many relationships as I can.

Rather than belonging to a single clique, I spread my social life out among multiple, unique friend groups. Although it can be difficult, I value all of my friendships and maintain them to the best of my abilities.

Friend Group A

Friend Group A can describe various types of friend groups. A group that’s known each other since they were young, a tight knit group of neighbors, or perhaps a lunch table of besties. The thing that they all must have in common is that all the members are very close with one another. Any individual would feel perfectly comfortable sharing any detail of their lives with all of the others. They are usually small, and if you are not already in this group you may find it difficult to join. Because they are all so close, it can be difficult to get them to open up to you, but once they do they are very open and loyal.

My group consists of five people including myself, and while they aren’t quite unwelcoming to others, they much prefer to hang out amongst themselves. We enjoy going out for food, shopping and going on other fun outings together. If I have nothing to do on a weekend they are the first people I think of. They are my closest group of friends, and probably best fit the description of a clique in relation to my other friend groups.

Theater Kids

Generally, the music wing is considered a safe haven for those involved in theater or the performing arts. Once there, ironically enough, people wash off their daily facades and let their true selves shine through.

Something special about the theater wing is that it mixes together all sorts of people and forces them to work with one another to create something beautiful. Whether that something be music or a play, everyone involved becomes a team sharing a common goal.

Personally, I have been involved in construction crew for many of the school’s plays. We build the sets. I find it to be one of the most welcoming and supportive environments I spend time in. Although friends do tend to gather with each other, everyone is willing to meet and get to know people that they otherwise wouldn’t have ever met if not for crew. And, when it gets closer to opening night and crew unites with cast, the common effort to make a great show brings everyone involved closer and closer together. The stress and pressure of pulling everything together would be too heavy a burden to bear if we couldn’t rely on each other.

Advanced Class Peeps

After elementary school, the school system begins to (extract) students that obtain higher grades and recommend them for accelerated classes. They get weeded out from the other students and set on a different path. Through this process, students find themselves in class with the same people a lot of the time.

By sixth grade I found myself taking double accelerated math, two years ahead of most of my grade. Due to this, throughout my entire middle school career my math class was identical, made up of the same twenty or so students who were wired onto this advanced track. Because we were together everyday for three years, we had lots of time to get close to one another and develop deep friendships. Although outside of math class we were all very different, with varying extracurricular activities and interests, we were brought together by our advanced placement.

I’ve found that students in advanced courses share many characteristics. They care more about their grades and so they tend to be more studious and hard working when it comes to both their academic and out-of-class lives. They hold themselves to higher standards. They do often stick together though, and help each other so that they can all learn and progress forward using one another for help, guidance, and support. Study sessions are a common way this support can be practiced.

The Nerds

The nerds are that group of friends that totally obsess over their interests while together. Interests can vary to almost anything. For example, television shows, books, and music are some common interests. Fangirling over the latest plot development or fan theories are fun pastimes for these friends.

Among my own nerd group of friends, we fan-out about many of the listed topics. It’s nice to have a group of friends that you can go totally geek with.

There are so many groups that one can interact with. I would much rather take part in as many as possible and enjoy the various experiences than limit myself to only one group of friends. It’s lovely walking through the hallway and being able to be excited to see many people instead of just heading straight to that one friend’s locker for the sanctuary that is their friendship. I can now find that sanctuary often, in every direction I turn. Indulging in spending time with a multitude of friend groups is a privilege of being an individual.

--

--