The True Character of Classroom Champions

A Teacher’s Personal Reflection on Character Day, September 26th

Dayna Landry
Classroom Champions
3 min readSep 26, 2020

--

I started my Classroom Champions journey in the classroom a bit younger and a whole lot less experienced than I am now. As a teacher, I knew I wanted to do more for my “kids,” beyond curriculum and outcomes — but I wasn’t sure where to start! That is when the opportunity of Classroom Champions came about. I didn’t know much about it, as the organization too was in its early years, but I just knew I had to be a part of it.

Fast forward eight years, and I still know I have to be a part of Classroom Champions’ Mentorship+ SEL Foundations Curriculum each school year. This program and the social and emotional learning (SEL) topics it covers has gotten me and my kids through the good, the bad, and the ugly. The unit on Perseverance has taught us to just keep going, even when it feels impossible. Community has extended our viewpoint beyond our classroom walls to make our school and town a better place for everyone. Teamwork has given us the opportunity to celebrate who we are and the differences that make us special, while also highlighting the similarities that weave us all together. Leadership has shown us the power of working together, and by helping others, we are helping ourselves.

Social and emotional learning (SEL) is so much more than a subject I teach. Classroom Champions truly shapes how I teach and who I am as an educator. It is the heart of every lesson and every moment of connection with my students.

My classroom’s character trait this year!

This year, our school has taken on a superhero theme. Each teacher had to choose a character trait. Without hesitation, I knew that my class was going to be “Super Leaders.” With the help of Classroom Champions, I know that my kids are going to rise above even my expectations. They are going to lead by example and model the proper behaviour and attitudes for the rest of our school. They already hold their heads higher, knowing that an elite athlete is on this journey with them and supporting them along the way. They are excited to dive into each of the topics, be challenged by their mentor, and become better human beings. Already I have overheard my kids saying, “We need to act like a champion!” and “What kind of example should I be setting?”

Already I have overheard my kids saying, “We need to act like a champion!” and “What kind of example should I be setting?”

Classroom Champions has truly made me a better teacher and person. The lessons I have learned, and continue to learn, have become a large part of who I am and what I present to the world. I too hold myself to a higher standard in both my personal and professional life.

Classroom Champions is so more than a group of people. It is a family that challenges, supports and celebrates one other. It is a family that I love being a part of every day.

--

--