RACE IN AMERICA

You Can Lead a Horse to Water

But you can’t “make” it stop being a racist

Clay Rivers
Published in
4 min readJun 22, 2017

--

Image by Oscar Nilsson, unsplash.com

The problem isn’t so much that some white people don’t understand “white privilege.” The problem is potentially two-fold. First, they may not understand it by that specific name. I’d never heard of the term “white privilege” until a few years ago; but growing up in the south, I knew it when I saw it exercised . . . even with my eyes closed. Everyone in these United States recognizes the concept of white privilege when they see it. Don’t believe me? Take a look at this 1-minute video from educator, Jane Elliott.

I rest my case.

Second, they may not want to address the issue of white privilege. After all, you can’t fix what’s broken if you don’t recognize that it’s broken in the first place. Besides, recognizing that something is inoperable comes with potential costs. Who wants to admit they might be part of a problem? (Self-incrimination.) Worse yet, who wants to deal with a conscience that knows it’s part of the problem. (Guilt.)

--

--

Clay Rivers
Clay Rivers

Artist, author, accidental activist, & EIC Our Human Family (http://medium.com/our-human-family) and OHF Weekly (https://www.ohfweekly.org) Twitter: @clayrivers