A Bull Case for Bitcoin

Clay Norris
Clay’s Thoughts
Published in
4 min readDec 3, 2019

--

I am a long-term Bitcoin bull. To be fair in an attempt to be unbiased, my opinions up to this point have not been all right, and I have lost some money by having the views that I have. Despite this, I refuse to sell because I think that one day BTC will be worth considerably more than it is worth today. My thesis for this belief is driven by a combination of behavioral economics and macro trends I am observing in the market.

The price of Bitcoin is a derivative of the strength of the network and the strength of the network relies on the opinions of both the current and future participants of that network. Many of studies have shown the difference in opinion about Bitcoin between older and younger generations. I believe these philosophical differences can be attributed to education and investment preferences.

The decision makers that control the flow of money in the capital markets today are of older generations; they are more pragmatic in their evaluation of new assets and ideas, and they are more likely to abandon interest once the asset or idea in question begins to show signs of stress. Bitcoin is not appealing to this category of people because they do not understand it, they have read stories of its flaws, and its price volatility does not align with their own risk appetite.

--

--

Clay Norris
Clay’s Thoughts

Middle of three brothers. I like cool ideas and pretending that I am more interesting than I actually am. // www.confluence.vc