There is no better time than now.

Devin T. Murphy
clcvoters
Published in
2 min readJan 7, 2019

Today is my first day as the new Digital Communications and Technology Manager at the California League of Conservation Voters!

New year, new job. This past year, I was responsible for Priorities USA Action’s and the League of Conservation Voters’ digital advertising expenditure and partnership to elect the next generation of environmentalists in Congress. Well, we won! But, our fight is not over. After spending a year supporting the largest digital advertising program in the nation, I’ve been offered an amazing opportunity to manage the League’s digital engagement and organizing program to transform and catalyze environmental politics in California.

Climate justice has always been near and dear to my heart. Growing up in San Francisco’s Bayview/Hunter’s Point neighborhood, I saw first hand how lack of care for our air, water, and land resulted in degradation of our bodies – especially poor, Black, and young people. As much as I noticed family members, friends, and neighbors impacted by mass incarceration and a failed justice system, I also experienced first hand how neglect to our air and water led to high rates of asthma (including in my own family), lead poisoning from school drinking fountains, and other health complications for the elderly often realized too late to confront. I’m excited to join the political action arm of California’s environmental movement and certainly stand on the shoulders of giants who have already prepared me with the knowledge to engage in this work (you know who you are). With the urgent need for a #GreenNewDeal, clean energy and green technology advancements, and the threat of climate change in front of us, I couldn’t think of a better time to get in this fight and movement.

Never too far from home. To many of you, it’s no surprise, but I’m ecstatic that in 2019 I’ll be centered back in California’s San Francisco Bay Area. Living bicoastal life between CA and DC this past year has been incredible (and damn tough!), and life may circle. me back to the East Coast sometime in the future. I’m so thankful to all my chosen family in DC who made this past year one to remember. I look forward to nurturing our friendships and hosting you in California (you’ll love Pinole!) just as you graciously welcomed me to DC this past year.

Thank you to all who continue to support my journey. I am excited for this next chapter of life, and looking forward to connecting with family and friends to make 2019 a prosperous year!

--

--

Devin T. Murphy
clcvoters

Mayor of the City of Pinole. Democracy Entrepreneur. Civic Technologist. Clean Energy Advocate. Justice Warrior. Baldwin aficionado.