10 Ways I Improve My Emotional Health

Find out the methods that can improve your emotional health.

Nadir Mahmood
Clear Yo Mind
3 min readOct 24, 2021

--

Photo by Tengyart on Unsplash

Life is not a bed of roses. It is full of challenges. Now and then, life knocks us down, but good emotional health can help us deal with it and bounce back.
Here are 15 strategies I adopt to cope with the ups and downs of life.

1. Watch out for my emotions and reactions

I try to distance myself from the people and situations that make me sad, angry, or frustrated. Keeping a close eye on my emotions and reactions helps me address the problems.

2. Adopt appropriate ways

Instead of keeping my bitter feelings inside me, I let people close to me know that something is bothering me. This way, I create space for myself and find peace of mind.

3. Think before I act

When provoked and infuriated, I give myself some time, take three to four deep breaths, and be calm before I say or do something. This way, I handle difficult situations and toxic people in a better way.

4. Use relaxation methods

When stressed, I adopt relaxation methods such as meditation, exercise, or nature walks. These activities give me time to think positively and be thankful for what I already have, like good health and my caring family.

5. Balanced Life

I try to keep a balance between work and rest. When a hectic routine makes me burn out, I take time to relax by playing my favorite support, watching good movies, or listening to music.

6. A sound mind is in a sound body

Our physical health affects our emotional health. That is why I exercise regularly, eat a balanced diet, and get enough sleep. I don’t abuse drugs or alcohol. This way, I become better prepared to cope with challenging situations.

7. Connect with others

Social connection is more important than we might think. Research suggests that positive relationships with other people improve our immune system. When I connect with others, it helps me regulate my emotions, and increase self-esteem and empathy.

8. Find meaning in life

My aim in life is to become a better human being and leave this world a better place than I found it. Finding my purpose in life has helped me focus on helping others through my communication and writing skills. Figuring out my purpose in life has given me peace of mind and a sense of usefulness that keeps me emotionally healthy.

9. Surround with positive people

You may be surprised to know that positivity and happiness are contagious. That is why I spend time with grateful people. I choose friends who have good habits, a healthy lifestyle, and a positive approach to life. Good company is good for the mind and soul.

10. Stay Positive

Negative thoughts can hit us anytime. That is why I consider it normal to have negative emotions. Whenever negativity strikes, I focus on the good things in my life. I forgive myself and others for making mistakes and look at the bright side of life.

Conclusion

To sum up, good emotional health allows you to live a fulfilling life. We begin to show more empathy and compassion towards people. We become better at holding arguments and talking through our feelings. We feel more energized and begin to focus and think clearly. Whereas poor emotional health can destroy our mental peace and resources.
If the above methods don’t work, consider consulting a therapist or any mental health professional. Stay blessed!

Hey there, fellow growth seekers!

I’m branching out and finally launching my blog, where we’ll dive deep into mental wellness, personal growth hacks, mindful practices, and unlocking financial freedom.

My journey to self-discovery and financial freedom wasn’t always smooth, but it’s been transformative. Now, I’m sharing my lessons and tips on my new blog, hoping to inspire your growth!

Follow me on https://beyondlimitsmind.com/ and leave your comments below! I can’t wait to connect and hear your thoughts.

--

--

Nadir Mahmood
Clear Yo Mind

Writing is my passion. I write about self-improvement, fulfilling life and financial freedom. Let's grow together!