3 Baby Steps To Take Before You Leap!

Deborah Holmén
Clear Yo Mind
Published in
5 min readJan 6, 2022

--

I took specific steps to begin again. It was the best thing I’ve ever done.

How To Tell If You’re Ready To Take A Leap of Faith: Part 1

Ten thousand miles in seven weeks has brought me to my new life. Leaving our 3,700 square feet home to our new 45-foot boat in Florida brings many unexpected challenges and joy.

Giving up the security of my career as a teacher was the first step, then it was putting all of my life into the back of my Dodge Avenger. (That’s when I realized that everything in my life was genuinely temporary!)

I also realized that picking and choosing items to keep in life and discarding others can be emotional yet freeing.

Things to Keep

Some things were easy to keep — the things that make life a little easier, as well as things that brought me joy.

It was the memories of friends I had made in the past 25 years living in Nevada.

They were there for me for a reason or a season, though only a few were for longer.

The memories of those that made me laugh, go on adventures, or listen to my sorrows will always hold a special place in my heart.

The memories of having groups of friends and monthly gatherings gave me fun diversions and created deeper connections.

I also keep the memories of the beauty of Lake Tahoe and the places that brought me happiness. I often visit those places in my mind when I need a pick me up.

Things I Got Rid Of

Some things were harder to throw away.

Picking and choosing something that makes your life better also means saying goodbye to things you once thought you needed.

I let go of a 20-year-old marriage to find my true self and worth.

Although it was the best thing for me, I had to weigh and measure each step since it significantly impacted our daughter.

Through that process, I also learned just to let go!

I let go of the belief that I had to control each aspect of my life and be present. When that happened, it was so much easier to let go of the things that didn’t serve me; guilt, lack of self-worth, and approval of others.

I said goodbye to people who didn’t support me or believe in me, as well as the ones that drained me of my purpose and energy. This included family members that were clouded by old belief systems.

This was difficult for me since I always believed in giving everyone a second chance. However, when you realize someone is coming from a place of anger, jealousy, or even worse, indifference, then it’s in your best interest to walk away from them.

I said goodbye to a job draining me of my passion and energy, realizing that you can’t fix a broken system yourself. That would take time, and it affected my health, physically and emotionally, so when I finally dared to leave teaching, I did it with purpose.

The Joys of Receiving

Since the beginning of this journey of moving onto our boat, I have received so many unexpected gifts. They came in so many packages.

Some were from wonderful people getting things for my daughter’s first year in college. Their thoughtfulness and love will always be remembered. Several gifts of monetary value were so appreciated.

I had left a very stable job and career to pursue my writing. The timing of it meant I would not be getting my retirement for twelve more years, although I had taught for over 25 years. I was a little concerned about how I would make ends meet!

Good-bye gifts, ‘just so you have some gas money!’ or ‘here’s a Starbucks gift card, if you get sleepy on the road trip!’ Every gift came when I needed that reassurance that I was making the right decision.

A dear family friend came over the day Paige and I were leaving to drive the 3,300 miles and gave us each an envelope with a beautiful prayer and money. We all cried at the unexpected generosity.

It turned out to be the exact amount I needed for the gas to get us across the States. I hugged him through my grateful tears.

Falling Into Place

Weeks into getting the boat ready for living aboard, Rich and I decided to take a drive and get to know our surroundings. We decided to have lunch in Sarasota and walk around.

We walked into a store that our friends talked about often as we did some window shopping. We met the owner and spoke about our new move.

By the end of our visit, I was offered a part-time job!

I had fretted for weeks about where I would get an income. I finally realized for my health’s sake that I just needed to let it happen when it was suppose to. That is not easy for me, whatsoever, but it paid off.

I worked there for several months until I was offered a copy writing job from a neighbor. Again, that would not have happened if I didn’t let go, and let things come to me.

Yes, life will open many opportunities when you let go of control. It’s all about the lessons we can take with us on the way!

--

--

Deborah Holmén
Clear Yo Mind

Sharing my musing on the human experience, tapping into our greater purpose. Find me at The Good Men Project, A Parent is Born, Illumination, & Guide magazines.