‘Follow the light: the power of small acts of kindness and love’

A Kloppwork Orange
Clear Yo Mind
Published in
6 min readApr 9, 2024

--

There’s a universal power that light brings. In dark times, as I wrote about in my first article here about Crisinity – finding opportunities in the crises we face — I am inspired to follow and move towards the light. Yesterday, the temporary absence of light during the solar eclipse brought excitement, joy and wonder to the world. I think it connects with people at a visceral level: in the moments where light, and hope, may seem extinguished, the belief and faith that it will return anew, bringing life, love, and laughter to us all, is truly magical. Each week, as is part of my tradition and heritage, I light candles to mark the closing of the week, and the start of a pause, a day of introspection, rest and above all to spend time with family. And a further candle is lit after that day has passed, to bring renewed optimism and a sense of hope for the week ahead.

Girl with a candle (Photo by Ground Picture)

Yesterday I found myself posed the question ‘How are you making this world a better place?’ here. Simple, yet profound, this led me to write today, and the question continues to flow and move inside my head, as answers form and shift, my brain processing, thinking equal parts slow and fast. It has become more than just a question to write about in this moment. It serves as a beautiful reminder of my place in The Universe: that my purpose is bigger than myself; that a world in…

--

--