Tips on How to Deal With a Bad Day

From Matt Haig’s The Comfort Book which is all about mental health

Scot Butwell
Clear Yo Mind

--

Me having a pretty good day (photo by my wife)

He was having a bad day.

Got in my taxi, this was before Uber, and asked me to take him to the liquor store.

Bought a bottle of vodka and wanted me to drive to a park where he waved $20 bills at people walking around a jogging path.

They ignored him.

Addiction can camouflage mental health issues and a few bad choices dealing with a problem or a relationship can lead us down the slippery slope of an addiction or relapse — I’ll share my story about that on another day.

For now, here’s some “Tips for how to make a bad day better” from Matt Haig’s The Comfort Book (he’s the author of The Midnight Library) with some of my own thoughts in parentheses:

Get up. Get washed. Get dressed. (move your body is good any time of the day).

Go for a walk. Stretch. Place your legs against the wall (the last one feels really amazing).

Head, if you can, somewhere green (especially if you’ve been looking a while at a screen. I forget this one all the time).

Get some sunlight.

--

--

Scot Butwell
Clear Yo Mind

I am embarrassing according to teenage son. My jokes are terrible and I don't know when to stop annoying my son. I am the dad of an autistic son. A funny kid.