Top 5 Interview Questions & Answers To Crack Any Interview

Rishi Patel
Clever Programmer
Published in
6 min readNov 28, 2020

Are you unable to crack interviews even with strong technical knowledge? Let me tell you something, getting the job is based on the ratio of 40% Technical Skills and 60% Soft Skills (attitude and energy you carry). So, I am back with the Top 5 common questions and answers to help you crack your next interview.

DISCLAIMER:
These are common for most interviews but we have used examples of software developers because they are ROCKSTARS, and I am one of them, lol.

Now, before we start, you must be wondering Why is answering interview questions PROPERLY is important?

There are two major reasons behind it:

1. PROPER answers will increase your chance by 90%.
2. PROPER answers will prove you have STRONG soft skills.

You can always pay a person to make a strong resume for you, but you can’t pay someone to crack an interview for you, that is why you need to learn how to answer those questions properly. Extraordinary people get those jobs, but you know what? It’s not that hard to be an extraordinary person who can crack an interview.

As you know now, it is crucial to showcase yourself in an appropriate way, let’s learn how we can do it.

Are you ready? Because I sure am…

QUESTION 1

Tell us something about yourself?

Most of the people don’t even know to answer this basic question, and end up with irrelevant answers, therefore losing the job.

Let’s see how most people would answer it?

“I am Rishi and I am a Full Stack Developer. I live in Canada and I was born in India. I love playing sports and reading books…….. ”

This is not the right way to answer this question.

AVOID:

1. Your PERSONAL life

2. ANYTHING not related to that position

TIPS:

1. Tell a STORY about your achievements and work history

2. Tell them what you know

RIGHT ANSWER:

“I started off my career as a freelancer back in 2019 and had the privilege to work at Clever Programmer for almost 6 months, which has been a great experience. Joining Clever Programmer was an excellent opportunity and there I am in charge of focusing on improving student’s success with a Team. Moreover, I know you are looking for someone who can lead a team and I think with my experience in finding gaps and developing a clean and easy process for improving student’s success, I believe I will succeed in the role you are hiring for.”

QUESTION 2

Why do you want this JOB?

How most people would answer it:

As I am looking for a full-time job as a web developer and I think I will be the right fit for this job based on my education and experience.”

This is not the right way to answer this question.

AVOID:

1. Never show you want it for MONEY

2. Never show you will leave that JOB for a better JOB

TIPS:

1. Show a DIRECT connection between YOU and that specific JOB

RIGHT ANSWER:

“I realized “COMPANY’S NAME” is working on building Websites and Mobile Applications for educational purpose and institutes and that personally fascinates me a lot like my previous company, Clever Programmer were I worked at, was more of an online education school where my major responsibility was to work directly with students to improve their success and I believe which gave me the skills to bring some of the most amazing ideas on the table at “COMPANY’S NAME”.

QUESTION 3

What is your greatest WEAKNESS?

How most people would answer it:

My greatest weakness is I work super hard

OR

Nothing, I do not have any weakness.”

This is not the right way to answer this question.

AVOID:

1. Never fake this ANSWER

2. Never show a weakness which is hard or impossible to CHANGE

TIPS:

1. Show a realistic WEAKNESS
2. Show something which can be CHANGED

RIGHT ANSWER:

“I realized with my experience that my greatest weakness is that I get overwhelmed when a deadline is near and then it is tough for me to manage my time and complete it before the deadline but I have been working on that since last month, and I am even taking some courses on time management which has strongly helped me to improve my weakness, and I believe with time I will be able to improve it completely.”

QUESTION 4

What is your expected SALARY?

How most people would answer it:

I don’t have a salary range, I am happy to work for whatever I get at this time as I am starting my career and just want to learn.”

This is not the right way to answer this question.

AVOID:

1. Never show you don’t care about MONEY

2. Never show you can also work for less MONEY

TIPS:

1. Before answering ASK questions about the role
2. RESEARCH the current market for your specific position and provide a range.
3. ALWAYS ask for 5–10K more (they will negotiate) based on that

RIGHT ANSWER:

“Before I answer that question, I would like to know more about what the job has to offer me including bonuses, insurance and would like to know my responsibilities briefly.”

ONCE YOU HAVE BETTER UNDERSTANDING OF THE JOB

“Based on my experience, current market and what the job has to offer me, I would say I would go between 75K — 80K and if this if the job is offered to me, I am sure we can come to an agreement on salary.”

QUESTION 5

Do you have any QUESTIONS for us?

How most people would answer it:

I do not have any questions.

OR

What actually does the company do?”

This is not the right way to answer this question.

TIPS:

1. Create a LIST of questions in advance
2. Make them feel you want to make sure you are the RIGHT
3. Show them you are INTERESTED in the role and the company

RIGHT ANSWER (EX — 1):

“I was doing my own research and I realized that the company is highly focused on building websites and applications for educational purposes but does the company aim to enhance other categories as well?” ”

RIGHT ANSWER (EX — 2):

“Apart from the skills listed in my CV, what other technologies and skills I will get to learn from this role?”

NOTES:

1. If you are running neck to neck with one other candidate, asking the right questions will LAND YOU THE JOB.

2. Don’t ask too many QUESTIONS

3. Don’t ask QUESTIONS like:
- Do you pay by check?
- Are there possibilities of promotion?
- Would I have to work after hours?

These are the most commonly asked questions, and if you answer them properly, you will be well on your way to landing that job. I am not saying, this is the only way of answering these questions, of course, there are other ways, perhaps even better than this, but if you do implement these tips, and answer everything confidently, there’s a great chance that YOU GOT IT.

Thank you for reading this blog, I hope it helps you land your dream job, and if it does please let me know in the comments or DM me on Instagram.

- Rishi Patel

Check Rishi’s Instagram To Start Your Career In Web Development

--

--

Rishi Patel
Clever Programmer

I am Full Stack Web and Mobile Application Developer. I design and build top grade UI and VUI.