Why I needed to create a photography collection in Medium

Diego Vicente
Click the Shutter
Published in
2 min readMay 27, 2013

--

Today, while I was reading some articles in Medium, the brilliant idea of looking for a photography collection popped up in my head. After looking every single single collection in the page, I did not a find any collection dedicated to photography. There were collections about travel and stories, but not a 100% photography one. So I thought I was the chosen to create it.

And here it is. Because I’m sure that in Medium there are plenty of amateur photographers, travelers, and urban explorerswith lots of techniques and hacks, and plenty of stories to share. And maybe, there are some profesional photographers here that can show us some really awesome stuff.

But I really felt obliged to create this collection for the rest of them, for people not so interested in photography. I think that Medium is a great place to share knowledge, to learn new things and to get out of our comfort zone and try new things.

Photography is much more than snapping a photo. Photography is keeping a moment from the past of time. A good photo mantains the feelings, the circumstances, the order or chaos of the moment when it was taken. Because we haven’t realised, but time machines have been invented long ago and we can travel anytime we want and we just need a photo in which get lost. But we’re not just passive subjects, we reflect ourselves unconsciously in every photograph.

“You don’t make a photograph just with a camera. You bring to the act of photography all the pictures you have seen, the books you have read, the music you have heard, the people you have loved.” - Ansel Adams

I really hope that you enjoy photography as much as me, and that it makes you live wonderful experiences. And, if it possible, that you can share them with us, here.

--

--

Diego Vicente
Click the Shutter

I study things, read books, listen to music and take photos. In the meanwhile, I write here.