Everybody works hard, but does everyone get the work done?

Kanchan Bhatia
clicksdaily
Published in
2 min readFeb 7, 2018

In the last five years I’ve noticed that people have their own way of functioning and getting the work done. No matter how you try & fit your team to work according to your time table they’ll only give their best if given the freedom to do things the way they want.

Giving freedom to have own style of work is as important as giving freedom to think. They both hold equal importance.

In my early days in advertising which is about seven years back, I was praised for being the hardest working employee.

I’m not proud.

I recall the day when the power went off in that office (startups) and everyone came out in the corridor chit chatting and giggling away. I sat on the stairs with my laptop finishing up an ORM report for my client.

That’s not hard-working. That’s silliness.

It only built up false expectation and I didn’t know I was digging my own grave. My out of choice behavior became a routine & I did not have a day off.

I learnt it the hard way, and today I manage my work within the time that I set for myself.

So, what really works for getting work done on time for most people?

Certainly not late hours! It’s the discipline and positive attitude.

I read a few things, got inspired by them, practiced them and that changed my work & personal life immediately.

I’m sharing the most important take away points that work every single time for everyone. You can apply it to yourself, your team or even for your organization. It works.

Let each and everyone in the team have their own working style.

Encourage one focused objective & do not preach multi-tasking.

Early birds gets the most difficult tasks done easily & much before time.

--

--

Kanchan Bhatia
clicksdaily

During the day I make digital strategy for a MNC & rest of the time I meditate my way through life!