Atom Editor: Overview & Package Roundup 2016

Clifford Fajardo
Clifford Fajardo’s Blog
1 min readJul 20, 2017

This is a YouTube video I made in 2016 when Atom Editor was still new and unheard of in the dev community; I made it mostly to show my colleagues’ it’s features as I was often finding myself re-explaining the same information.

This video shows some of the great features Atom offers such as its plugin system and design.

I also wrote an article that trended on Quora comparing Atom & Sublime if you’re curious: How Does Atom Compare with Sublime Text? (Quora)

Packages I use:

  • Atom beautify
  • Atom like brackets editor
  • Autocomplete project paths
  • Atom live server
  • Clipboard plus
  • Editorconfig
  • File icons
  • File size
  • Git time machine
  • Highlight line & Highlight selected
  • Jumpy
  • Local History (←life saver)
  • Set syntax
  • Linter
  • Pane layout plus
  • Platformio IDE terminal
  • Atom json color (Love this!)
  • Autoclose html
  • Autoprefixer
  • Linter jsonlint

Currently I’m still using Atom, but I also like to use Microsoft’s VScode. Which text editor do you like using?

Find Me Elsewhere: Twitter, Github, Quora

--

--