3 Good Climate News Stories So Far This Year

You asked for less nihilism? Here’s 3 minutes of reading time to cheer you up. (Maybe.)

J.R. Flaherty
ClimaScope

--

Siddharth shah / Unsplash

You don’t need to tell me it’s been quite a year.

When people tell me to be positive, I say, “I am your pinch of salt.” (With the emphasis on the pinch.) Yeah, I can get a little salty sometimes.

So let’s get it straight: Nothing wrong with balanced doom-scrolling.

You won’t catch me telling people to have a nice day. Well, I live in London. Nuff said. But I won’t lie, like any thinking person, the global situation does stress me out. How could it not?

So believe it or not, I found some good climate change news. No, really.

These three climate change stories made me do a silent fist bump to the air. You go, humans! (Ok, maybe not that enthusiastic, but you get my drift).

175 nations agree to limit plastic production

To make plastic, you need oil.

So not only does the stuff pollute our oceans, but it also causes climate change. In March 2022, 175 nations agreed to a treaty that would restrict the growth of plastic production.

--

--