An Interview With 16-Year-Old Climate Activist And 2020 Princess Diana Award Winner Sarah Goody

I spoke with a 16-year-old climate activist from the Bay Area who leads a youth activist organization that wants to educate the public and inspire climate action on the biggest challenge of our time.

Danny Schleien
Climate Conscious

--

Image used with Sarah Goody’s permission

I often question whether I can have a real impact in the climate movement and, if so, how I should go about doing that. Is it fair for me, a white male with a huge ecological footprint and no lack of privilege, to even open my mouth and lecture other people about what they should be doing?

That’s why I love connecting with climate activists who have resolved those sorts of dilemmas and gotten to work.

I recently spoke with the co-founder and leader of Climate NOW, a youth climate activist organization based in California. Sarah Goody is a 16-year-old activist who couldn’t believe humanity could actively destroy the planet while barely batting an eyelash. So as you’ll see below, Sarah took it upon herself to get involved. She strikes and speaks at schools and rallies, doing what she can to put climate change at the forefront of the public discourse and fight for our future. In 2020, Sarah received the Diana…

--

--

Danny Schleien
Climate Conscious

Writer, editor, explorer, lifelong learner. Social distancing expert since 1994, big fan of semicolons and Oxford commas. Think green.