OCEANS

How Whales Change the Climate. An Ode to the Magical, Magnificent Ocean

Understanding cycles is adapting to climate change

Desiree Driesenaar
Climate Conscious
Published in
6 min readJun 15, 2021

--

Picture: furuno via Pixabay

The past two months in Ibiza changed me. The closeness to such a beautiful, clear sea gave me clarity in my life as well. The rocks around the island gave me a feeling of personal passion. Personal purpose. Personal power.

Es Vedra is the Mother of Rocks on Ibiza. And she changed me.

There are things I can do to flip the switch of our world. I’m a storyteller. I’m a creator of futures. I can use my passion, my personal power to make everyone fall in love with our planet again. So we will all find our personal next steps in our quest.

What quest? Why quest? How quest? Well, we need to find out what it means to be human on a planet full of cycles. And feedback loops. And rollercoaster thoughts that are clouding our views.

Today, I want to give you clarity with an ode to the ocean. Whales matter. Whales change the climate. And if we understand how whales do that, we can do that too.

We need to find out what it means to be human on a planet full of cycles

Lungs of the Earth

--

--