I Paid $1,000 for My Tesla to be Blue

And I feel terrible about it.

Joe Thomas
Climate Conscious
Published in
4 min readOct 8, 2020

--

Ok, I don’t feel terrible, but I do feel convicted about paying $1,000 to make my new Tesla blue. If you are not aware, the Tesla Model 3 comes painted with the Pearl White Multi-coat, but if you pay $1,000 extra, you can get it painted Deep Blue Metallic. What this probably means is that all of the cars that Tesla manufactures come off the line with the Pearl White Multi-coat, and then as customers request the Deep Blue Metallic or another color option, they paint them accordingly. If that isn’t the case, then why would they charge $1,000 extra for Deep Blue Metallic?

As an aspiring environmentalist, buying a new car is already troublesome. If my goal is to reduce my carbon footprint to zero, then buying a brand new car of any kind is not a good start. The best thing I can do to zero my carbon footprint is reduce my commute to a bikeable distance, and then ride my vintage bicycle to work every day. That would be the best way to at least zero the carbon footprint associated with my commute.

Unfortunately, I’ve been raised to appreciate convenience, and I’ve been trained in the dark arts of consumerism. These are habits we are all trying to break. With the rise in remote work, it is possible that I could find a job where my commute is eliminated, but then what about all of the…

--

--

Joe Thomas
Climate Conscious

EV traveler, writer, futurist. Author of The Wealth of the Planet, While We Were Charging, and Martian Economics --> https://a.co/d/3z6f4CC