Tetra Paks Are 100% Recyclable, But Are They Sustainable?

A discussion about the pros and cons of Tetra Paks.

Julie X
Climate Conscious

--

Image by Linus Schütz from Pixabay

I’ve been actively avoiding disposable straws. A few days ago, I thought I’d indulge in a packet drink. It was one of the little Tetra Pak packs with a little straw in a thin plastic sheet stuck to its side.

I pulled the straw out, stuck it into the foil hole on top of the pack, then realized stupidly that that’s a straw. In my mind, I saw a sea turtle with said straw stuck in one nostril. Ugh.

I had somehow overlooked the straw. And seeing the straw made me wonder about Tetra Pak recycling. Yes, I see the recycling symbol, but how recyclable is it? Is it sustainable? What about the straw and the thin plastic film?

Tetra Pak is a Swedish company specializing in food packaging and processing. I’m sure you’ve seen a Tetra Pak, and you’ve most likely drunk from one. They’re used to package everything from little packets of milk to soup to juices and larger cartons of milk.

Light and boxy, they have the lowest carbon footprint compared to other packaging

According to a paper, carton packaging has the lowest overall carbon footprint compared to glass bottles, aluminum, and steel cans…

--

--

Julie X
Climate Conscious

A minimalistic millennial trying to make her life mean something.