Photo credit: Matthew Henry

5 Things I Wish I’d Known Before Being Born

Susie G Scott
zClippings Autumn 2017
3 min readOct 11, 2017

--

Trying to think of something original to write for this article is difficult. 20+ people given the same topic to write about, and you’re bound to get a few duplicates. Do that every year and the possibility is even higher. And so finding something to write about that hasn’t been done and isn’t so generically boring a reader will give up after the first paragraph takes some serious brainpower. So read on for 5 things that I wish I’d known throughout my life so far.

1. Life is hard — but you can make it easier

This may seem like a vague statement, but I assure you it is not. Life really is hard, and it can even be so hard you feel like giving up entirely. From birth you have a set of expectations assigned to you, and you spend your whole life trying to live up to them. It’s taken me nearly 21 years to realise that the only expectations you have to live up to are your own — and even then it’s only if you really want to. If doing something makes you happy or unhappy, then you decide whether or not you do it, and if that fails to meet anyone else’s wishes then it’s tough shit, really.

2. You’re a person too

A pet hate of mine is the assumption that specific people deserve more respect than others simply because of who they are. People earn respect, and even if they’re older than you, or in a more senior position, that doesn’t mean that they can treat you like a lesser person, or that you have to treat them specially instead. Arguments or discussions in which you have a valid opinion that are cut short with the words “I’m [insert position here], I deserve some respect!” should actually end with that person being slapped in the face with a wet fish. Just because that person brought you into the world, or contributed to it, doesn’t make you any less of a person than they are, or your views worth any less.

3. Education is important

Perhaps not the right target age on Medium for this one, but it’s something I wish I’d known so it needs to be added in. Education is the most important thing… ever, really. You can’t do anything without it, even if it’s only to GCSE level. Whilst I was clever enough to know that good grades were important and left school with more than enough to get me to university, I was also lazy enough that I simply coasted my way through school. I achieved solid B’s and the occasional C, much to my teachers’ disappointment, because they knew I was capable of higher. Push yourself to do the best you can do — remember that it’s actually cool to be clever, though also keep in mind that your mental health comes first and you should stop if it gets to be too much.

4. Do-nothing days are the best days

Despite what your parents have probably said, it’s absolutely okay to spend all day in your pajamas festering on the sofa or in bed with films. In fact, I actively encourage one of these days at least once a month. The only thing you need to do on these days is remember to eat and drink, which leads me onto my next point…

5. Drink more water

I only include this because as I write I have a pounding headache from having a do-nothing day and forgetting to drink water regularly (I also didn’t want to move from my spot on the sofa). If you don’t like water, then grow up and learn to like it. Children don’t like vegetables but they still have to eat them, and for good reason. Water is not only essential for survival, but to be healthy. You’ll notice improvements in your weight, your skin, your energy, everything.

On an end note, feel free to ignore any of these things (as already noted, I regularly forget no. 5) since nobody is perfect and although I often think my wisdom is spot-on, it’s probably wrong for some people. This whole thing is entirely subjective and based on my own personal experience of life… So sorry if it’s shit.

With thanks to Louise Parker and Toby M-S.

--

--