Join The Cult They Said…

Ellena Restrick
zClippings Autumn 2017
3 min readNov 29, 2017
©FX 2017

American Horror Story: Cult is the seventh series of the ongoing anthology created by Ryan Murphy and focusses on a suburb in Michigan being terrorised by a cult of clowns in light of the 2016 election results…yes, it’s a mind fuck from beginning to end.

©NME 2017

So, this was risky. I remember speaking with fans of American Horror Story before the season began and the general consensus was ‘oh here we go, time for pseudo-political commentary on America- by the Leftie, Liberal snowflake generation’ (I genuinely heard someone say that, no word of a lie). I will admit I didn’t exactly see what they could do plot wise when the only real plot point mentioned was about the election- I mean Donald Trump getting elected was enough of a genuine horror story, no need to elaborate on that element.

© FX 2017. Just because it wouldn’t be an article of mine without a nod to Donald…aw, bless the old dotard.

Wow. This season belonged to Evan Peters, without a shadow of a doubt. In total, he played six different cult leaders. Some actors have trouble pulling off one character successfully and then Evan Peters comes along and gives life to six of the most notorious men to walk this Earth. Just give the man an Emmy, please.

©FX 2017
© FX 2017
© FX 2017

The focus of this cult, formed by Peter’s Kai, in a contemporary setting was chilling; the idea of a Meninist, Nazi group of WASPs reigning terror in modern America is so incredibly effective because it feels possible. Plus those clowns…ugh, I thought Pennywise was bad but at least he didn’t have full on intercourse in the grocery aisle.

©FX 2017

I mean come on guys, right in front of my watermelons?

© boymercuryx 2017

Between the focus on psychological horror of phobias, courtesy of Sarah Paulson’s Ally, and the real brutal and frankly bloody body horror of the cult, this season works on a level that this series hasn’t managed since, I would argue, Murder House and Asylum. I can’t go in to direct plot points because this will be an entirely spoiler free review but it successfully completed a clear story arc that felt fulfilling but also left things on an ominously sinister note (I will do a spoiler review if it is requested because woah, still some things I need to discuss. Took me a while to realise the exact relevance of the hive imagery *wink wink**nudge*)

American Horror Story: Cult airs on FX on Tuesday

With thanks to Leah Hockley.

--

--