The Stupid & The Really Stupid

Nicole
zClippings Autumn 2017
4 min readOct 18, 2017

Social media is dumb, so it may make you dumber

“Play Yu-Gi-Oh. I wanna’ take a picture for this weeks article” Source: Rae Anne Nicole Bundhun©

Communication is a must. The idea, and the intentions, of social media is to serve the simple purpose of chatting and connecting with other people, and I support this principle. Social media has been achieving its goal for me by helping me keep up, and rekindle, relationships with my extended family overseas. And, as I’m living out of my hometown for University, helping my folks keep a tab on me, and ensuring them of my safety and existence.

However, I don’t know why I have so many accounts on different social media and networking websites; I have an Instagram account, a SnapChat account, WhatsApp, Skype, Twitter, and a Facebook account (obviously). Why does it take this many social networking sites just to simply communicate with some people in my life? Even the question sounds a bit more idiotic when I factor in owning a phone that allows me to text and call anyone, if I have their number.

I used Tumblr in the past. A lot of people used to confuse it with being social media, when it’s main purpose was for blogging or reblogging (the latter of which was all I used the site for — guilty). And nowadays, I have Instagram, which is considered social media as well, but technically it’s a photo sharing site, and has similar functions to Tumblr. However, I don’t understand why one appeals more than the other; is it the layout? Is it the accessibility? Is it just that one’s targeting a broader audience, and it hits my demographic?

So, I spoke to someone about their opinion on social media, and here are some of the questions and answers to the brief discussion.

Me: What’s a social networking site that you hate?
Nerd/Tech Fanatic: Google+. ‘Cause they’re so pushy about getting a Google+

I had no idea Google+ was a social media/networking site. Probably because I barely used it (and still don’t use it). I put it in this article ‘cause I thought people may need to know.

Me: What about Facebook?
Nerd/Tech Fanatic: I dislike how they keep information-
Me: Oh, I thought this was going to be an interesting conversation. Usually you’re very particular. I can’t remember — it might’ve been you — but you said at one point that if that something were to change “this and this and this, it would be perfect”. Are you sure there isn’t anything you’d like to change about, like, Facebook?
Nerd/Tech Fanatic: Well, I don’t like the fact that whatever you put on Facebook, Facebook owns too. So, basically, like, if you upload a video, or a photo, or whatever, it’ll be owned by you AND by Facebook

It sucks that Facebook has made it this way. It sounds like they’re branding your photos of your children, or photos and videos of your wedding, (and don’t forget those photos from that girls’ trip to Majorca) to their name, when they’re all full of your memories. I’m just being too sentimental, but it feels like Facebook wants to stick their face in our lives no matter what, like Google+.

I don’t think we got to the point of what I wanted to get from the conversation. So I questioned another person.

Me: Is social media stupid? I’m asking you
Artsy Bumble Bee: Huh? Oh. Um. No. It has, uh, [laughs, and shows me a meme] See! It has many uses, and it can bring people together, like, cause’ I have friends overseas which I wouldn’t have been able to meet, or have kept in contact with, in real time, without social media. I think social media is great for that purpose only. And also for publishing yourself, like, for your workplace, and your work things
Me: So what makes it stupid?
Artsy Bumble Bee: [Laughs a lot more] The memes! There’s so many things online that are unnecessarily stupid, like video compilations of people hurting themselves, it’s just unnecessary, and I hate how I laugh at it and find them funny too. It can waste time, though, and you can kinda’ fixate on it, going online and doing nothing, really

The stupidity is always there. All the drunk pictures, the Trump tweets, everything can be shared on the internet, and social media is the fossil fuel for their virality. With the freedom of speech, of course the only way social media can control its content is with scanning and regulating their site consistently, and this is sometimes a good thing. Despite it not being a social media site, YouTube is probably one of the biggest sites with the most viewing traffic, and even the company have taken down videos that YouTubers rely on to get the little money that they can get off the site. Outside of social media, the internet cannot be controlled as much; sites that advocate and evoke hate are apparent, and can eventually be apparent in social media. A TEDTalk by Theo E.J. Wilson perfectly experimented with this theory. He explains how he makes a persona on the internet, and how this persona attracts the same kind of people, and how social media impacted every part of it.

In the end of this brief research, I realised how powerful of an influence social media has within everyone.

With thanks to Louise Parker.

--

--