Who am I?

Ella Shields
Clippings Autumn 2018
2 min readSep 30, 2018

I was a dog once, quite a big dog maybe a Labrador or a Golden Retriever. Boring but sweet. As you can imagine it was quite a shock, communicating with my family and friends was hard; they didn’t understand me and I didn’t understand them. I reassured them by wagging my tail and in return they’d scratch my back. I never get a massage as a human but when I was a dog they couldn’t resist. I was cute rather than ugly, playful rather than lazy, and everyone loved to give me a cuddle. Apart from only getting a bowl of dry food twice a day, being a dog was bliss. My responsibilities were gone and I could sleep as much as my heart desired. But I woke up the next morning and I was a human again, sleeping restricted and cuddles rare.

I’ve been famous too. Not ridiculously famous like Brad Pitt and Jenifer Anniston, more like ‘successful author’ famous, only people who were really interested knew my face but everyone recognised my name. I had the privileges that came with fame: A big house, a nice car, fabulous jewellery and, of course, I had a hunky husband (minus the fate of divorce). I enjoyed the feeling of being someone important. I was someone who had changed someone’s world in the tinniest of ways. I had a purpose and a place. It was fun whilst it lasted but I soon woke up to being ordinary: living in my parent’s house, no cars and certainly no husband, single and little to no mark on the world.

One time, and probably the best of all three, I woke up confident. That was lush. I wasn’t awkward, I spoke freely without a stutter and was brave enough to say and do anything I wanted. I got away with wearing any kind of clothing and having my hair in any way I wanted. I went for jogs and did exercise without the worry of my double chin and bingo wings. I enjoyed the gym! Who on earth enjoys the gym? I wasn’t shy anymore, and I was thriving in everything I did. I was finally happy with myself. However, the next morning I soon woke up and my confidence had vanished, my wardrobe was limited, exercise and free speech was gone.

Who am I? I’m a person whose dreams are a lot more interesting.

--

--