My Campaign for Freelance Writing

Sebrena Hough
Clippings Autumn 2020
2 min readNov 18, 2020

Being able to monetize what I love doing and have it be a small source of income is something I’ve always dreamed of doing. Everyone has heard of art commissions before; so what about writing commissions?

I did some research and there is such a thing as writing commissions, or better known as freelance writing. I decided to take this and create my own commissions sheet, which I have yet to post to social media. Though I still wondered, in the back of my head, would someone really pay for my words? At least with art — yes, writing is a form of art-but with an image, you can use it, look at it, make it your profile picture, or desktop background…what is one to do with words? Read it once, think that was pretty good then forget it ever existed. There is only so many times you can read a piece before you memorise it or get bored with it; with an image you could look and appreciate it forever, new people can look at it and appreciate it. You wouldn’t ask someone to read a piece of work, but you would ask someone to look at this amazing art commission you had done.

Despite all this, I still decided to make my sheet, and see where it goes. I have a small social media following, to which this information of me selling commission spots can be spread easily. Below can be found my first draft of my commissions sheet.

My alias online, where most of my commissions are going to be at the moment due to the pandemic, is the name ‘Blossom’. I am sticking with it for anonymity purposes! I decided to go with aspects I am good at writing with and familiar with, fandoms that I was comfortable in and things that I was comfortable with writing with to others. I don’t know how popular this will be, whether I will get any enquires at all, but the making of the sheet gave me a new found hope that my writing was worth something.

--

--