This is me. This is what I am.

Nick Osborne
Clippings Autumn 2020
2 min readOct 9, 2020

I am an extremely lethargic, trickster kind of character. I enjoy making other people laugh with my deeply English humour (i.e sarcastic, edgy and potentially highly offensive.) My style is very much like my humour: dark and gritty. I tend to naturally lean towards fantasy and science-fiction to create worlds that people can escape into, similarly to how I did growing up with novels and video games. When it comes to writing, I tend to vanish off into the depths of my mind and fish for ideas. To be able to provide many people who struggled through early life, as I did, with the means to escape into the shoes and personality of another person has been my life-long goal. I do not even want to be within the lime-light — I simply wish to be able to help people in the way I was helped when I was younger. To return the favour, so to speak.

Whilst I can write and create worlds with relative ease, I struggle with writing in an engaging manner within a professional form. To be able to write professionally, without having to crowbar my humour or perspective in to give the piece some personality, is something I strive to be able to do fluently. Other than writing fiction, I have tried my hand at writing sarcastic and potentially immature articles that pick out inconveniences and flaws in day-to-day life in an attempt to make others laugh and/or agree with a similar sense of mild anger. However, as the years have passed, I have realised that are enough articles out there that have this style (David Mitchell namely amongst others) and I have decidedly chose this course in order to expose me to other styles and forms that I can hopefully enjoy writing which is also engaging and entertaining.

Finally, I know that learning a professional sense of style will allow me to write my novels in a more mature manner which will allow me to reach my dream of becoming a (moderately) successful writer. Because the stars are too far to shoot for, so the Moon will do.

--

--

Nick Osborne
Clippings Autumn 2020

I’m basically a human goblin. I write science-fiction and fantasy mostly — crafting worlds unseen.