Who am I?

Kimberley Morvai
Clippings Autumn 2020
3 min readOct 7, 2020

A simple question with a not so simple answer.

I am a 21-year-old girl, who exactly two years ago moved from a small country, Hungary to the United Kingdom to change her life. Every day since then has been a new adventure, a new challenge, a new opportunity for learning and growing.

I am still trying to find my place and who I am by doing as many different things as possible, saying yes to things I would normally avoid, stepping out of my comfort zone, and testing my limits and boundaries, while also focusing on my studies to fulfil my dream of becoming a writer.

Writing has always been a part of my life in one way or another, ever since I was little. My first memories of writing are when I made up some short stories and poems about farm animals. I also remember keeping a journal which I filled with my childhood problems and funny comic book stories, which I used to entertain my little sister. In my early teens, my cousin and I wrote a few fanfiction stories about our favourite celebrities which we also published online. Sometimes when I think back at that time, I wonder how we were so brave to post them for other people to read, considering how shy and insecure I am now. Later, I used writing to express my thoughts and feelings in long letters to the boy I liked, which he always appreciated.

Even though writing has been a part of my life since a young age, I had never actually thought about making a career out of it (let alone do it in a foreign language) until the day when my father told me there is a creative writing course in the university I was applying for. He was the one encouraging me to give it a try and I couldn’t be more grateful for that.

This is how my dream to live in England and my journey to become a professional writer began.

Before starting this course, I had always thought I was going to be a fiction writer and publish my novels. However, I had to realise, it’s as simple as I would think. I still haven’t given up on that dream, but during this course I was also introduced to other forms of writing, which made me quite interested. For instance, last year on the commercial forms module I particularly enjoyed writing articles and blogs.

I think on this course I not only have useful lectures about subjects that interest me but also many opportunities to grow and improve. For example by sharing my work and getting feedback in a safe and motivating environment from like-minded people.

My plans, goals, and dreams change from time to time. While I’m a student, I’d like to experiment with writing as much as possible, to develop and find what I really enjoy and what works best for me.

My dream job would be to publish articles and blogs online while working on my novels at the same time. I would love to make myself and my parents proud by becoming a successful author of the English-speaking world. I know there is still a lot of work ahead of me, but I like to believe that it’s something I’ll be able to achieve.

So, who am I?

Today I’m an aspiring writer who is trying to find her place in writing as well as in the world. And who do I become tomorrow? I can’t wait to find out.

--

--