‘For A Moment I Was Lost’ and then Amber Run found me

Amber Kassianou-Hannan
Clippings
Published in
2 min readMar 8, 2017
Amber Run — For a Moment I was Lost album cover (2017)

I found this band back in 2014 after I may or may not have tried to search my own name on Spotify. They had a few songs and one EP (Pilot). In my curiosity, I decided to listen to a random song on the top of their Spotify list: “Heaven”.

It fulfilled all of my indie/alternative band expectations and I was content with the band. However, I couldn’t get the song out of my head for days and I couldn’t work out why. And then it hit me. The harmonies, the guitar riffs, Joe’s sweet melodic voice. It became an ear worm. So I listened to their other single “Noah” and again, the song got stuck in my head. For some reason I connected with the lyrics in some subconscious way and I couldn’t quite work it out. But I liked that. I liked that it wasn’t obvious.

In 2015, they released their first album 5am. I got it and listened to it and I loved it. The sultry tones in their voices beckoned me closer. I wanted to know. I wanted to know what it was all about.

And then things went quiet. They did a few acoustic sessions with Mahogany Sessions and I listened to them and thought “Yeah, these guys are really talented”. But again, I was still lost in their lyrics. A year went past and I thought they might have just faded into the music stratosphere.

Then they released “Haze” and I was found. The lyrics were beautiful, the vocals were mesmerizing and I can safely say that I clicked with this song. I understood. Then they released “Stranger” and it was solidified in my head then. The hole in my indie band section of music was filled and I was quick to pre-order their new album For A Moment I Was Lost.

The album itself is a piece of art; each song depicting an emotion I had felt myself and I’m sure others had too. The lyrics were so real and poetic and being a literature student, I appreciated this. The album is a journey; from anger, to self-doubt, numbness and finally, what I feel, is a sense of acceptance. It’s a familiar journey that many can relate to.

I felt a sense of pride, like when a mother waves her child off to their first day at school. I felt like, finally, the band had found itself and it’s true potential. I’m sure many tears, rage and heartbreak went into those songs and you can feel it.

Unfortunately, due to illness, I was unable to see them in London but am hoping to see them in their autumn tour and see that emotion on stage.

--

--