This is me.

jack hanrahan
Clippings
Published in
4 min readJan 11, 2017

This is me. I’m Jack, a 19 year old university student currently studying English Language and Creative Writing. I’m in my 2nd year of study at Canterbury Christchurch University, where I’m having the time of my life. I was born in a small village in Hertfordshire called Sawbridgeworth. Don’t be offended if you haven’t heard of it, no one has. So the transition from my hometown to Canterbury was exciting as I can actually do things here, and people have heard of it!

Just so you guys get to know a little bit more about me I’d like to tell you about my two main hobbies being music and travel. Hope you find it informative since this is me.

I would consider myself quite a musical man. I have been playing drums for almost 9 years and for me it never gets old, I absolutely love it and I’m always finding new diverse songs to learn and new beats to practice. I’ve always been a fidget and a table drummer, especially when listening to new music. I love breaking the song down beat by beat, learning it, dissecting it and then making it my own. As a consequence I’ve learned to enjoy a wide range of genres as well as play them. My taste in music is pretty random when it comes to who I like to listen to. It can very much be determined by my mood so for instance, if I’m a bit irritable I’ll usually sway towards Heavy Metal and bands including Slipknot, Bring Me the Horizon and Five Finger Death Punch. Some creative names there to say the least. However if I’m pretty content or happy with life my music can range from The Lion King soundtrack to Lady Gaga. I know, a pretty random mix.

I love going to live gigs and I’ve a large list of bands I’ve seen under my belt. Some of these include Linkin Park at the O2 arena in November 2010, my first concert. I still remember the butterflies I had travelling to see my 13 year old self’s heroes. Taking a temporal tinnitus as a souvenir for the ride home. Losing my voice for a few days after screaming every single lyric for over 2 hours. In my later years I’ve added Motorhead, Limp Bizkit, Korn, Slipknot, Nickelback and many more to my list in just 6 years. I don’t know about you guys but I think that’s not too shabby. I would love to see some bands and artists such as Red Hot Chilli Peppers, Foo Fighters, Bruno Mars and some others. On the contrary I would have loved to have seen Led Zeppelin, Queen, Jimi Hendrix and more recently Prince and even George Michael. I think it’s worth having a band bucket list, or just a bucket list. If there’s anything last year has taught me, it’s to do everything you want when you can because you never know when you might kick the bucket yourself.

But enough about music. Although drums is my passion, I also have a love for travelling. During last year’s summer I went on a 7 city tour around Italy, one of the best weeks of my life. Italy is such a gorgeous country and even though I did a lot during my tour, including visiting the Vatican, Gondola trips across the waters of Venice, Wine tasting in the hills of Tuscany and taking a dip in Lake Garda. I doubt I even scratched the surface. I’m definitely planning on conquering as much as I can there in my lifetime. I also have a little soft spot for Wales which I think is a beautiful country. I’ve visited North Wales 3 times but the South only once. The country is full of stunning mountain ranges and green hills. When I was 10 I climbed Mount Snowden, the 2nd tallest mountain in the UK, with my family. Unfortunately my mother beat me to the summit, but I like to think I let her as I was soaking up the scenery whilst she raced to the top. She has a mild fear of heights, I do not.

During my school days I became quite a well-travelled child due to school trips. Germany, France, Belgium and Poland have all been ticked off the list thanks to history classes. I was lucky enough to visit the battlefields during the Somme, Trenches during WW1 and Auschwitz which was a pretty surreal experience. I’m hoping to add some more countries and places to my list such as New Zealand, Utah, Southeast Asia and Mexico. Before all that however I need to finish my degree and get a bloody good job. With all these goals I’ve got to start somewhere.

Thanks for reading and I’ll talk to you soon.

With thanks to Heidi Conroy

--

--